Category Archives: Lita Ford

Lita Ford – Living Like a Runaway [Review]

Lita Ford – Living Like a Runaway
(2012, SPV/Steamhammer Records)

1. “Branded”
2. “Hate”
3. “The Mask”
4. “Living Like a Runaway”
5. “Relentless”
6. “Mother”
7. “Devil in My Head”
8. “Asylum”
9. “Love 2 Hate U”
10. “A Song to Slit Your Wrists By”

Lita Ford – Lead Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards
Gary Hoey – Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Backing Vocals, Co-Vocals (“Love 2 Hate U”)
Matt Scurfield – Drums

Producer: Lita Ford, Gary Hoey & Bobby Collin

After the career misstep that was 2009’s S&M sex-charged & industrial Wicked Wonderland, Lita Ford is back. Only this time she’s recently divorced, pissed off and ready to rock like it’s the 1980s all over again. Wicked Wonderland seemed like it very much should’ve been released as a effort from Lita Ford and Jim Gillette instead of being treated as a Lita Ford solo effort but with that marriage now over, Lita is now back in familiar hard rock territory and truly flying solo.

“Branded” (though angry), “The Mask”, “Asylum”, “Love 2 Hate U”, “Devil In My Head” sound more like the Lita we’ve all come to know and love and drool over. “Living Like a Runaway” definitely goes back into that melodic pop metal territory where she became a superstar. That mid-temp number could’ve been a hit for her had it been released in the late ’80s or early ’90s.

“Hate” has more of a modern metal vibe to it and it wouldn’t be too out of place on Wicked Wonderland. Same with “A Song to Slit Your Wrists By”. I guess it’s hard letting go but you gotta let go if you really want to rock tonight, Lita!

While she may not be coming up with anything as catchy as “Close My Eyes Forever”, “Gotta Let Go” or “Kiss Me Deadly” on this album, Lita is at least getting closer to her roots and giving her fans more of what they want and isn’t that a win for everyone? Enjoyable effort from The Queen of Metal.

Obscure cover song alert: “A Song to Slit Your Wrists By” is a song from Nikki Sixx’s old side-project 58.

Highlights: “Branded”, “The Mask”, “Living Like a Runaway”, “Devil In My Head”, “Asylum”, “Love 2 Hate U”
Buy the album at

LITA FORD – Wicked Wonderland

Lita Ford – Wicked Wonderland (2009, JLRG Entertainment)

1. “Crave” … 3:46
2. “Piece (Hell Yeah)” … 3:42
3. “Patriotic SOB” … 4:33
4. “Scream 4 Me” … 3:58
5. “Inside” … 4:13
6. “Wicked Wonderland” … 3:50
7. “Indulge” … 4:43
8. “Love” … 5:31
9. “Sacred” … 3:58
10. “Betrayal” … 4:34
11. “Truth” … 3:56
12. “Everything” … 3:36
13. “Bed” … 6:51
14. “Garden” … 4:06
15. Push” … 4:17

Lita Ford – Vocals, Lead Guitar
Jim Gillette – Vocals
Greg Hampton – Bass, Synth, Rhythm Guitar
Stet Howland – Drums (Tracks 2-10, 12-15)
Chris Collier – Drums (Tracks 1 & 11)

Produced by: Greg Hampton, Jim Gillette and Lita Ford

Okay, let’s get this out of the way — musically, this isn’t “Kiss Me Deadly” Lita Ford. If that’s what you were expecting and wanting, sorry, it’s not here. Pop-Metal Queen Lita is gone and has been replaced by a Lita Ford that owes more to Rob Zombie than Motley Crue (don’t worry, she’s still hot).

15 years ago, Lita walked away from the music industry to concentrate on her family life and she has returned with a sex-charged album that is heavier than anything she’s done before and many songs are in the industrial metal vibe. Her voice is still in top form, as is Jim Gillette’s voice (husband & former Nitro front man). Jim makes an appearance on all of the tracks either sharing co-vocals with Lita or providing backing vocals.

Once this album was announced, I was happily waiting for it. Then “Crave” was released online and to be honest, I didn’t care for it. I could not get Rob Zombie out of my head and it was not what I was expecting from her at all. After a few more listens, the song started to grow on me though. That’s basically what this whole album is — a grower.

I can understand where it would be hard for any die hard Lita/glam fan to immediately dive into this album with arms wide open. Speaking personally, after giving this album a few listens, I’ve been able to pick it apart and my “favorites” list of songs from this album is beginning to build. There’s some really good moments here and some nice guitar playing from Lita. The album does have three songs that immediately grabbed me though: “Piece (Hell Yeah)”, “Scream 4 Me” and the trippy ballad “Sacred”.

Even if this isn’t the sound people are expecting from Lita, you have to give her credit for staying true to herself and doing what feels right to her instead of half-heartedly trying to ride the nostalgia train in an attempt to give us the “classic sound”. My final verdict is that Wicked Wonderland is an unforeseen yet enjoyable journey into new terrain for the Metal Queen.

As a side note — I have to say I really love the artwork and the photos of Lita. It’s dark, it’s edgy, it’s rock ‘n’ roll and when you toss Lita into the mix, she gives the whole theme just the right amount of soft ‘n’ sexy.

Highlights: “Piece (Hell Yeah)”, “Scream 4 Me”, “Inside”, “Indulge”, “Love”, “Sacred”, “Bed”

%d bloggers like this: