Category Archives: Cold

Cold – Superfiction

Cold – Superfiction (2011, Eleven Seven Music)

1. Wicked World … 3:36
2. What Happens Now … 3:42
3. American Dream … 3:38
4. The Break … 3:45
5. Welcome 2 My World … 3:30
6. Emily … 3:36
7. The Crossroads … 4:18
8. Delivering the Saint … 4:24
9. So Long June … 4:41
10. The Park … 3:40
11. Flight of the Superstar … 3:30
12. The Ballad of the Nameless … 3:29

Scooter Ward – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Zac Gilbert – Guitar
Jeremy Marshall – Bass, Backing Vocals
Sam McCandless – Drums

Producer: Jeremy Parker & Kato Khandwala

Apparently at some point Cold broke up after their last album (2005’s A Different Kind of Pain). After being disappointed with the average Year of the Spider (2003), which came after the great 13 Ways to Bleed on Stage (2000), I decided to sit out A Different Kind of Pain. From most accounts, I didn’t miss much. Oh, and for the record, their self-titled debut is terrible.

Now it’s 2011 and Cold has reformed and released brand new album that sometimes sounds like what I’ve come to expect from Cold and sometimes not. Even Scooter Ward’s vocals change from song to song. Listening to the debut single and opener “Wicked World” (which sounds like a song that could’ve been on 13 Ways…) it’s the Scooter we all know but then “What Happens Now” and “Welcome2MyWorld” are so different I’m questioning whether it’s even Scooter singing. Not to mention neither song particularly sounds very much like the Cold of old and “What Happens Now” kind of reminds me of 30 Seconds to Mars. Unfortunately, there are no band credits for some reason anywhere in the booklet other than “All Songs Performed by Cold”.

The third song on the album (and second single) is yet another departure in sound with Scooter’s vocals on “American Dream” falling somewhere in between those he did on the two previous tracks, fitting a much more generic “let’s get this on radio” post-grunge vocal style. The song itself reminds me of a band like Daughtry and is the most commercial track on the album.

By the way, I need to point out one really annoying thing on this album — the drums. It sounds like a drum machine was used for some of these songs and it really bugs me as it just seems to loop the same exact repetitive beats on a number of the songs. It just sounds so lame and limp. If in fact a machine was not used, maybe it’s time for a new drummer.

Though certainly not an uplifting or hopeful album, Superfiction is not as dark, angry or aggressive as previous releases. It shows the band moving more towards the typical post-grunge hard rock sound that radio deems permissible. Ward’s vocals are much more melodic and he does not scream or sound as angry as he has in the past. Even when he says “fuck you” on “The Crossroads” there doesn’t seem to be much conviction behind it though I think musically this is one of the few songs that somewhat reminds me of what I’ve come to expect from the band.

I gave this album a shot out of nostalgia and because it could be picked up at a low price. It’s not a bad album at all. The band is still in emo mode but they are a bit slower, softer, more melancholy and more in line with current hard rock trends than I would have liked. I don’t think the album will gain any new fans (“American Dream” didn’t even chart) but longtime Cold fans like myself will find enjoyable moments on this album even if it those moments aren’t worth getting excited over.

Highlights: “Wicked World”, “What Happens Now”, “American Dream”, “The Crossroads”, “So Long June”, “The Park”

Buy ‘Superfiction’ at!

COLD – 13 Ways to Bleed on Stage

Cold – 13 Ways to Bleed on Stage (2000, Interscope Records/Geffen Records/Flip Records)

1. “Just Got Wicked” … 4:00
2. “She Said” … 4:08
3. “No One” … 3:17
4. “End of the World” … 3:04
5. “Confession” … 3:48
6. “It’s All Good” … 3:43
7. “Send in the Clowns” … 4:13
8. “Same Drug” … 3:43
9. “Anti-Love Song” … 3:10
10. “Witch” … 3:48
11. “Sick of Man” … 4:04
12. “Outerspace” … 3:37
13. “Bleed” … 3:56

Scooter Ward – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard, Piano
Kelly Hayes – Guitar
Terry Balsamo – Guitar
Jeremy Marshall – Bass
Sam McCandless – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Aaron Lewis – Backing Vocals (“Send In the Clowns, “Bleed”)
Sierra Swan – Backing Vocals (“Witch”)

Produced by: Cold, Fred Durst, Chris Vrenna, Adam Kasper

From the Angry & Tormented White Boy Club that gave us such luminaries as KoRn, Limp Bizkit, Puddle of Mudd and Staind comes Cold! Signed to Fred Durst’s vanity imprint, Flip Records, over at Interscope/Geffen, co-produced by Fred Durst and featuring vocals from Staind’s Aaron Lewis, you know it’s gotta have angst!

I remember “No One” being played on one of the local rock stations pretty frequently and I liked it a lot. While in Virginia in December ’00 visiting friends, I stopped into the local FYE at the mall and one of my friends suggested this album saying he thought I would like it a lot. I wasn’t sure because I wasn’t into the drab & angry nu metal scene, but I think it was only like $9.99, so I took the chance and I loved it.

I’m not really a fan of music like this: depressing and self-pitying and self-loathing, but it really struck a chord with me at the time and was the soundtrack to my troubled romantic life for most of 2001. It’s definitely a nostalgia album to me. The kind where I’ve mentioned in the past that can take you back to that exact time of your life bringing back all those old memories and feelings.

I think it’s a really good album, and their best, but I have to be in a special mood to listen to it. A mood I don’t really care to get into, so I really don’t listen to it much anymore despite the quality. It’s a good album to get out your sorrows and anger though and there’s not a whole of filler to it, IMO.

Highlights: “Just Got Wicked”, “She Said”, “Confession”, “No One”, “It’s All Good”, “Anti-Love Song”, “Witch”, “Sick of Man”, Bleed”

%d bloggers like this: