Category Archives: Evile

Evile – Five Serpent’s Teeth

Evile – Five Serpent’s Teeth (2011, Earache Records)

1. “Five Serpent’s Teeth” … 5:34
2. “In Dreams of Terror” … 5:07
3. “Cult” … 4:50
4. “Eternal Empire” … 5:35
5. “Xaraya” … 6:02
6. “Origin of Oblivion” … 4:55
7. “Centurion” … 5:44
8. “In Memoriam” … 5:47
9. “Descent into Madness” … 4:25
10. “Long Live New Flesh” … 5:16

Matt Drake – Vocals,  Rhythm Guitar
Ol Drake – Lead Guitar
Joel Graham – Bass
Ben Carter – Drums

Producer: Russ Russell

Though I liked their last album, Infected Nations, I think Five Serpent’s Teeth is a much stronger album. Better riffs, better solos, better use of melody, better vocals. Despite these accomplishments it’s all a bit bitter sweet as this is the band’s first album without original bassist Mike Alexander who passed away in 2009. “In Memoriam” pays tribute to Alexander by using a bass riff he would play during sound checks.

On this third album, Evile is still bringing thrash to the masses in the same style of the classic composers such as Metallica, Megadeth, Testament and Overkill. This is not a bad thing. You could do a lot worse than get compared favorably to Metallica — and I mean good mid-late ’80s Metallica, not St. Anger/Lulu Metallica.

At the same time, while at the forefront of the “new wave of thrash” (a scene that has banked a lot on nostalgia), there is an extra quality to Evile that gives them a modern edge that even the tormented, brooding teenage souls of today would enjoy even if they think Megadeth and Metallica are a bunch of old fogies.

Whether the rest of the new thrash metal bands will continue stand once the novelty wears off, time will tell. As for Evile, they are already starting to separate themselves from the pack and I look forward to seeing what else they can come up with in the years to come.

Five Serpent’s Teeth is definitely a standout album for 2011 and not to be missed by fans of the Big Four.

Highlights: “Cult”, “Eternal Empire”, “Xaraya”, “Origin of Oblivion”, “In Memoriam”

Buy ‘Five Serpent’s Teeth’ at!

EVILE – Infected Nations

Evile – Infected Nations (2009, Earache Records)

1. “Infected Nation” … 5:33
2. “Now Demolition” … 5:46
3. “Nosophoros” … 5:29
4. “Genocide” … 7:42
5. “Plague To End All Plagues” … 5:55
6. “Devoid Of Thought” … 5:37
7. “Time No More” … 4:00
8. “Metamorphosis” … 7:40
9. “Hundred Wrathful Deities” … 11:41

Matt Drake – Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Ol Drake – Lead Guitar
Mike Alexander – Bass
Ben Carter – Drums

Producer: Russ Russell

I happened to breeze through review of this album online then a few days later and by chance, not even seeking it out, I came across Infected Nations at FYE for only $9.99 as part of a “young metal” display they had set up. Continuing my “more thrash” initiative, and remembering that this band was indeed labeled as “retro-thrash”, I quickly scanned it at one of their listener booths and really liked what I heard because I’m retro kind of guy. I mean right down to the album art (illustrated by veteran heavy metal album cover artist Michael Whelan) this band is old school!

The only problem? I didn’t hear any vocals! The entire album was sampled and none of those samples featured vocals. I wasn’t sure if maybe they were an instrumental band or what. I had decided I wasn’t going to get the album because too many new metal band like to employ the awful cookie monster voice and that stuff sucks. Luckily, there was a copy of Enter the Grave (their debut from 2007) so I scanned that and finally heard Matt Drake on vocals and he was fine. I almost picked up Enter the Grave instead, thinking it was better to start from the beginning, but it was a few bucks more and I just didn’t like the samples as well. Perhaps someday I’ll pick it up though.

I’ve seen a lot of debate lately over whether it’s good to have a “retro” sound or not. For some people, it’s a turn off. I don’t really seen a problem with having a “retro” sound as long as the music is good and the music here is good. I don’t follow the modern thrash scene, but as far as I’m concerned, the highest compliment you could give a young thrash band is to say they sound like an ’80s thrash band. And that’s exactly what Infected Nations sounds like. To my unrefined thrash ears, I can hear many similarities to Metallica (which isn’t surprising considering the band earned their stripes playing Metallica covers) with a lesser influence from Slayer (most notably in the vocals), but the sticker on the cover of the album compared the band to Slayer, Megadeth and Sepultura.

The Haddonsfield, England-based Evile is on their way to becoming one of the great modern heavy metal bands and if you don’t believe, check out the epic instrumental album closer “Hundred Wrathful Deities”!

Highlights: “Now Demolition”, “Nosophoros”, “Genocide”, “Plague to End All Plagues”, “Hundred Wrathful Deities”

%d bloggers like this: