Category Archives: Crash Kelly

CRASH KELLY – One More Heart Attack

Crash Kelly – One More Heart Attack (2008, Warrior Records)

Track Listing:
1. “One More Heart Attack” … 3:55
2. “Jenny Jet” … 4:40
3. “Old Habits Die Hard (And The Good Die Young)” … 3:56
4. “The Devil You Know” … 3:32
5. “Love Won’t Die” … 4:31
6. “Nottingham Rock City Blues” … 2:48
7. “Right Girl, Wrong Time” … 3:58
8. “Trash Talk” … 3:03
9. “Falling In And Out” … 3:18
10. “16 On A Summer Night” … 4:05

Sean Kelly – Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Gene Scarpelli – Guitar
Allister Thompson – Bass
Tim Timleck – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Gilby Clarke – Percussion, Guitar
Rudy Sarzo – Bass
Brian Tichy – Drums
Chad Richardson – Harmony Vocals
Craig McConnell – Bass, Keyboards

Produced by: Gilby Clarke (Tracks 1-5), Sean Kelly & Craig McConnell (Tracks 6-10)

This is a fun, breezy listen perfect for summer and I’ve found myself listening to it a lot in the past few days. The more I listen to it, the more I’m enjoying the songs. The cool people at Warrior Records were kinda enough to pass this along to me and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve know *of* this band for sometime, but I’ve never listened to them and I’m glad I was afforded the luxury to do so.

There’s no denying the influences here: 70s glam rock and power-pop. The album art is an fun tribute to Alice Cooper’s School’s Out and the Cooper influence shows up again with the vocals during “Trash Talk” and there’s touches of Slade and Thin Lizzy to be heard on the album as well. “Falling In and Out” is probably the most commercial sounding song, a good piece of modern power-pop that would sound fine playing over the radio.

Highlights: “One More Heart Attack”, “Jenny Jet”, “Love Won’t Die”, “Right Girl, Wrong Time”, “Trash Talk”, “Falling In and Out”, “16 On A Summer Night”

%d bloggers like this: