Category Archives: Drew’s Famous

Drew’s Famous presents Haunted Horrors: Classical Halloween Music [Album Review]


Drew’s Famous presents Haunted Horrors: Classical Halloween Music
2014, Drew’s Entertainment/TUTM Entertainment

1. Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001: A Space Odssey)
2. Ride of the Valkyries
3. Toccata and Fugue in D Minor
4. Night On Bald Mountain
5. Chiller
6. Crypt-O-Night
7. A.K.A.
8. Fur Elise
9. Moonlight Sonata (Piano Sonata No. 14 in C# Minor)
10. Danse Macabre
11. Funeral March of a Marionette (from Alfred Hitchcock Presents)
12. Bolero (Short Version)
13. Funeral (From “Barry Lyndon”)
14. Fantasia In E Flat
15. Funeral Mach
16. Petrified
17. The Monsters Are Here
18. The Cryptkeeper
19. Don’t Move
20. Final Steps
21. Scary Movie
22. Virtual Insanity
23. Vanished
24. Close Your Eyes
25. The End

Figured I would mention this one just because I’m in such a fervor over Halloween and I picked this one up at a Walmart for $3. I’m a big fan of listening to dark classical music around Halloween and having been using Spotify to listen to some of these classical numbers already, I figured it would be nice to own them on a CD as well.

Drew’s Famous is a surprisingly popular line of soundtracks designed to be used at parties. Seriously, there are a number of Drew’s Famous albums that have gone gold or platinum. The Drew’s line doesn’t only focus on Halloween or holidays but I think this is their third or fourth Halloween-themed album. All of the tracks are credited to “The Hit Crew” (I think this is the same for all other Drew’s Famous releases). This album features┬áthe some of the quintessential dark classical pieces like “Night on Bald Mountain”, “Ride of the Valkyries”, “Toccata and Fugue in D Minor”, “Fur Elise” and “Moonlight Sonata”. Those songs alone easily make it worth the $3 to finally have them on CD and the last two are probably my favorite classical pieces of all time. I’ve never considered “Also Sprach Zarathustra” to be something that should be used around Halloween though.

Filling up the second half of the album are original sound effects tracks (usually around a minute in length) featuring evil laughing, women screaming, clanging gates, dogs barking and other kinds of creepy noises.

This is a fun album to listen to around Halloween but would be best enjoyed if you put it on a shuffle so you get a mix of the classical music and creepy sound effects.

%d bloggers like this: