Category Archives: UFO

Various Artists – Live and Heavy [Review]

Various Artists – Live and Heavy
1981, NEMS Records

1. Deep Purple – “Smoke on the Water”
2. Nazareth – “Razamanaz”
3. Motorhead – “White Line Fever”
4. Def Leppard – “Rocks Off”
5. Rainbow – “All Night Long”
6. Status Quo – “Roll Over Lay Down”
7. Whitesnake – “Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City”
8. UFO – “Lights Out in London”
9. Gillan – “Unchain Your Brain”
10. Black Sabbath – “Paranoid”

What a brutal album cover that totally screams “heavy metal”. I picked this one up on vinyl in great condition for only $1 at a local flea market annex shop called Fort Walton Beach Vintage Records. Live and Heavy is a compilation put out by the British label NEMS that, unsurprisingly, features live tracks by UK rock bands. Had this been released a year or two later, I’m sure it would’ve been full of NWOBHM bands but instead we get bands that are more closely associated with ’70s hard rock and heavy metal.

This compilation has a killer line-up: Gillan-era Deep Purple, Rainbow, Whitesnake, UFO (“Lights Out” is titled “Lights Out in London” on this release), Ozzy-era Black Sabbath, Motorhead… some of the very best heavy rock bands England has to offer. Even Def Leppard makes an appearance. Pretty good deal for such a new and young band (at the time) to get a track compiled with a number of other legendary bands.

Had this been a compilation of studio tracks, I probably would’ve passed. I’m not big on live album but for a collection of live cuts from these specific bands, I figured it was worth a buck.

The inner sleeve lists the various dates and venues these tracks were recorded. Always good to have that info. I was afraid this was going to be a super low-budget compilation that wouldn’t even bother.

This is a good pick-up for fans of hard rock from the 1970s and early 1980s.

Highlights: “Smoke on the Water”, “All Night Long”, “Ain’t No Love in the Heart of the City”, “Lights Out in London”

UFO – The Essential UFO

UFO – The Essential UFO (1992, EMI/Chrysalis Records)

1. “Doctor Doctor” … 4:07
2. “Rock Bottom” … 6:30
3. “Out In The Street” … 5:10
4. “Mother Mary” … 3:45
5. “Natural Thing” … 4:00
6. “I’m A Loser” … 3:48
7. “Only You Can Rock Me” … 4:05
8. “Lookin’ Out For No. 1” … 4:32
9. “Cherry” … 3:32
10. “Born To Lose” … 3:33
11. “Too Hot To Handle” … 3:37
12. “Lights Out” … 4:31
13. “Love To Love” … 7:36
14. “This Kids (live)” … 4:50
15. “Let It Roll (live)” … 4:51
16. “Shoot Shoot (live)” … 4:05

Phil Mogg – Vocals
Michael Schenker – Guitar
Paul Raymond – Guitar, Keyboard
Pete Way – Bass
Andy Parker – Drums
Danny Peyronel – Keyboard

I bought this album only a few years ago for two reasons: UFO came highly recommended by a co-worker and for the Scorpions connection with Michael Schenker.

Being a “best of” compilation, the album is very good, but for whatever reason, it never inspired me to go pick up any of their other releases.

Highlights: “Doctor Doctor”, “Rock Bottom”, “I’m A Loser”, “Lookin’ Out For No. 1”, “Cherry”, “Born to Lose”, “Too Hot to Handle”, “Lights Out”

%d bloggers like this: