Category Archives: Exodus

Exodus – Exhibit B: The Human Condition

Exodus – Exhibit B: The Human Condition (2010, Nuclear Blast Records)

1. “The Ballad of Leonard and Charles” … 7:14
2. “Beyond the Pale” … 7:40
3. “Hammer and Life” … 3:31
4. “Class Dismissed (A Hate Primer)” … 7:15
5. “Downfall” … 6:22
6. “March of the Sycophants” … 6:45
7. “Nanking” … 7:22
8. “Burn, Hollywood, Burn” … 4:05
9. “Democide” … 6:36
10. “The Sun Is My Destroyer” … 9:33
11. “A Perpetual State of Indifference” … 2:25
12. “Good Riddance” … 5:33

Rob Dukes – Vocals
Gary Holt – Guitar
Lee Altus – Guitar
Jack Gibson – Bass
Tom Hunting – Drums, Percussion

Producer: Andy Sneap

Try as I might, I cannot get into this album. I have such a hard time with thrash these days. Metallica, Megadeth and Anthrax really ruined me for everyone else. I’m finding that I’m not a huge fan of the retro thrash movement or the “second wave” of ’80s thrash bands. Overkill, Testament and Evile are okay, Death Angel I actually like a lot but Exodus is leaving me cold. The worst part of the album for me is Rob Dukes. I just can’t stand his screaming. It’s really ruining the music for me because it borders on that screamo/hardcore stuff I can’t stand.

I’ve listened to this album 4 or 5 times since buying it shortly after it came out in 2010. Yes, it’s been that hard for me to get into and listening to it again recently, there’s really nothing that sticks out. Is it terrible? No. There’s some good metal on the disc. Despite Dukes’ harsh vocals, “Nanking” is a pretty awesome song and is the best of the bunch for me. Very little stands out and none of what does is particularly memorable to my ears.

Highlights: “The Ballad of Leonard and Charles”, “Beyond the Pale”, “Nanking”, “Democide”

%d bloggers like this: