Blog Archives

W.E.T. – W.E.T.

W.E.T. – W.E.T. (2009, Frontiers Records)

1. “Invincible” … 3:52
2. “One Love” … 3:58
3. “Brothers In Arms” … 4:49
4. “Come Down Like Rain” … 4:43
5. “Running From The Heartache” … 4:29
6. “I’ll Be There” … 4:46
7. “Damage Is Done” … 3:27
8. “Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is” … 3:16
9. “One Day At A Time” … 5:04
10. “Just Go” … 4:27
11. “My Everything” … 3:21
12. “If I Fall” … 6:09

Jeff Scott Soto – Lead Vocals
Erik Martensson – Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Background Vocals
Robert Sall – Guitar
Magnus Henriksson – Guitar
Robban Back – Drums

Producer: Erik Martensson

Frontiers Records has gotten me in the mood and right mindset for melodic rock lately. It’s not a genre I pretend to have an in-depth knowledge in but I know good music when I hear it and this project featuring Jeff Scott Soto (the main drawing point for me) is a really strong effort that sometimes reminds me of House of Lords because it rocks a bit harder than a lot of melodic bands do. Rounding out the core of W.E.T. is Robert Sall (from the band Work of Art), Erik Martensson (Eclipse) and Jeff Scott Soto provides the “T” from his old band Talisman. From what I’ve read, this album actually came to be at the request of Frontiers Records who wanted another melodic rock release from Soto. Well, that request has paid off in a major way!

The more I listen to this album, the more I like it. I had planned on buying it a while back, but the samples just didn’t grab me but with each spin, the power of the album is coming through more and more. It’s easy to see why this made the rounds on many rock sites as one of 2009’s best releases — there’s no filler! Every song is catchy, filled with hooks and choruses and you’ll get sucked in and start singing along before you know it.

The great guitar work of Erik Martensson is worth noting and really brings this album up a level in intensity but the highpoint for me is Jeff Scott Soto’s vocals. I’ve been a fan of his since I first heard him. He’s such an amazing and powerful singer and I know he experiments with different types of music, but his voice really was made for music like this.

“Invincible”, “One Love”, “Running From The Heartache” and “If I Fall” (which sounds like a lost Journey song) are the best of the best from an album that I can only believe is a modern masterpiece of melodic rock.

Highlights: “Invincible”, “One Love”, “Brothers in Arms”, “Comes Down Like Rain”, “Running From The Heartache”,  “One Day At A Time”, “If I Fall”

%d bloggers like this: