Blog Archives

SILVERTIDE – Show and Tell

Silvertide – Show and Tell (2004, J Records)

1. “Ain’t Comin’ Home” – 4:04
2. “Devil’s Daughter” – 3:51
3. “S.F.C.” – 4:04
4. “California Rain” – 3:52
5. “Blue Jeans” – 3:09
6. “Mary Jayne” – 3:53
7. “Heartstrong” – 4:17
8. “To See Where I Hide” – 3:54
9. “You Want It All” – 3:26
10. “Nothing Stays” – 5:00
11. “Foxhole J.C.” – 5:23

Walt Lafty – Lead Vocals
Nick Perri – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Mark Melchiorre, Jr. – Guitar, Piano, Organ, Backing Vocals
Brian Weaver – Bass, Backing Vocals
Kevin Frank – Drums, Backing Vocals

Produced by: Dave Ivory & Oliver Leiber

Ugh. Hey, I have no problem against bluesy southern hard rock, it’s not my favorite sub genre, but I can deal. But this album just isn’t very good. It’s generic. In one ear and out the other.

One of my dislikes for this band stems from the fact that the local radio station where I was living at the time played “Ain’t Comin’ Home” NONSTOP. You’d swear the song went platinum based on 99 Rock airplay alone and the DJs wouldn’t shut up about them and about how it was a “real” rock record and “the best in years” and blah blah blah. I think 99 Rock practically had a collective orgasm when Silvertide came to play a show in the area.

Based on all of that hype, I bought the album for $9.99 at FYE and felt robbed!

Highlights: “Ain’t Comin’ Home” (despite hearing it a million times), “Devil’s Daughter”, “Blue Jeans”

%d bloggers like this: