Blog Archives


Brides of Destruction – Runaway Brides (2005, Shrapnel Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Aunt Biente” [Instrumental] … 1:09
2. “Lord Of The Mind” … 4:22
3. “Dead Man’s Ruin” … 3:01
4. “Criminal” … 4:12
5. “This Time Around” … 4:02
6. “White Trash” … 3:46
7. “Brothers” … 3:27
8. “Never Say Never” … 5:14
9. “Blown Away” … 2:56
10. “Porcelain Queen” … 4:23
11. “White Horse” … 3:14
12. “Tunnel Of Love” … 4:39
13. “Dimes In Heaven” … 5:11

London LeGrand – Lead Vocals
Tracii Guns – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Scott Sorry – Bass, Backing Vocals
Scot Coogan – Drums, Backing Vocals

Produced by: Andy Johns

One year into B.O.D.’s existence, Tracii Guns was left without the support of Sanctuary Records and Nikki Sixx, who was co-captain (and co-writer) of the Good Ship B.O.D.

Tracii decided to continue with the group while Nikki rushe back to the Motley Crue reunion and this album is definitely hurt by the lack of Nikki’s presence (though he does hold a few co-writing credits here and there). The album is much more serious, darker, and takes on a much more modern rock/metal sound than Here Come the Brides did. It just isn’t as catchy and throws out some of the 80s L.A. Strip sound the previous album had. The haunting instrumental opener “Aunt Biente” sets the mood for the rest of the album and is a good indicator and where they were heading.

It’s not a bad album by any means, it just fails to live up to the potential the band showed with their debut. Again, I think Nikki leaving the band hurt this album and I really would have to liked to have seen Brides at least put on hold for whenever the next Motley down time came up. I don’t blame Nikki though because what would YOU rather do, play clubs or play arenas?

In 2006, the band was put on hold when Tracii Guns (VERY temporarily) joined Quiet Riot. Since then, Tracii has gone on to form his own version of L.A. Guns to compete with the legit Phil Lewis version.

Is the band done? I hope not, but I fear so. I’d like to see them continue in some form, though with the success of SIXX:AM and the revitalized Motley Crue, I highly doubt B.O.D. is of any concern to Nikki. Maybe Tracii can snap out of his current fake L.A. Guns band mindset and decide to do give us something new again and bring London along as well.

The curse of B.O.D. struck again: The Wildhearts‘ Ginger had joined the band as guitarist, even co-writing a handful of songs for this album, but had left by the time recording started.

Highlights: “Aunt Biente”, “Criminal”, “This Time Around”, “Never Say Never”, “Porcelain Queen”, “Dimes in Heaven”

THE WILDHEARTS – Riff After Riff

The Wildhearts – Riff After Riff (2003, Gearhead Records)

Track Listing:
1. “Stormy in the North, Karma in the South” … 2:48
2. “Putting It On” … 4:20
3. “Looking for the One” … 3:48
4. “Lake of Piss” … 5:33
5. “Better Than Cable” … 3:17
6. “If I Decide” … 4:21
7. “Bang!” … 5:07
8. “Action Panzer” … 3:00
9. “The People That Life Forgot” … 3:45
10. “Move On” … 3:53
11. “O.C.D” … 4:58
12. “Return to Zero” … 4:05
13. “Let’s Go” … 3:58

Ginger – Lead Vocals, Guitar
C.J. – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Danny McCormack – Bass, Backing Vocals
Stidi – Drums

Produced by: Ginger, Simon Efemey, Gordon Raphael, Russ “Risky Russ” Russell

The Wildhearts were a band I had never heard of until the early-2000s when the then-relevant Metal Sludge site constantly gave them nothing but praise. I had heard “Vanilla Radio”, which apparently as a huge comeback hit for the band in their homeland of the UK and loved it. All Wildhearts albums were either out of print in the US or import, and thus I couldn’t bring myself to spend $30-40 on one CD, so I was ecstatic when I found out Riff After Riff was going to be a US release.

This album, a collection B-sides that were recorded around the same time of “Vanilla Radio”, was originally released in Japan in 2002 as an EP called Riff After Riff After Motherfucking Riff, but the US release has left off “Vanilla Radio” and has added on an extra six songs. As catchy as “Vanilla Radio” is, there isn’t anything that even comes close to that song here, IMO. Granted, these are B-sides, so you can’t expect too much, but there are a few tunes here worth checking out.

Curiously, Gut Records (a sister label to Gearhead Records) would release 21-track complete collection of The Wildhearts’ B-sides the year after this release with an album called Coupled With.

I love the cover though, great stuff that would’ve been a cool logo for legendary wrestler Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart!

Highlights: “Stormy in the North, Karma in the South”, “Putting It On”, “Looking for the One”, “Return to Zero”, “Let’s Go”

%d bloggers like this: