Blog Archives

Exodus – Exhibit B: The Human Condition

Exodus – Exhibit B: The Human Condition (2010, Nuclear Blast Records)

1. “The Ballad of Leonard and Charles” … 7:14
2. “Beyond the Pale” … 7:40
3. “Hammer and Life” … 3:31
4. “Class Dismissed (A Hate Primer)” … 7:15
5. “Downfall” … 6:22
6. “March of the Sycophants” … 6:45
7. “Nanking” … 7:22
8. “Burn, Hollywood, Burn” … 4:05
9. “Democide” … 6:36
10. “The Sun Is My Destroyer” … 9:33
11. “A Perpetual State of Indifference” … 2:25
12. “Good Riddance” … 5:33

Rob Dukes – Vocals
Gary Holt – Guitar
Lee Altus – Guitar
Jack Gibson – Bass
Tom Hunting – Drums, Percussion

Producer: Andy Sneap

Try as I might, I cannot get into this album. I have such a hard time with thrash these days. Metallica, Megadeth and Anthrax really ruined me for everyone else. I’m finding that I’m not a huge fan of the retro thrash movement or the “second wave” of ’80s thrash bands. Overkill, Testament and Evile are okay, Death Angel I actually like a lot but Exodus is leaving me cold. The worst part of the album for me is Rob Dukes. I just can’t stand his screaming. It’s really ruining the music for me because it borders on that screamo/hardcore stuff I can’t stand.

I’ve listened to this album 4 or 5 times since buying it shortly after it came out in 2010. Yes, it’s been that hard for me to get into and listening to it again recently, there’s really nothing that sticks out. Is it terrible? No. There’s some good metal on the disc. Despite Dukes’ harsh vocals, “Nanking” is a pretty awesome song and is the best of the bunch for me. Very little stands out and none of what does is particularly memorable to my ears.

Highlights: “The Ballad of Leonard and Charles”, “Beyond the Pale”, “Nanking”, “Democide”

Coming Up…

Knowing me, it’s probably going to take two (maybe three) weeks to get through all these albums but I just wanted to let the world know that, yes, there are more NEW music reviews on the way!

The latest from Dio, Helloween, Death Angel, Exodus, The Sword, David Rock Feinstein, Jettblack, Skelator and Evestus should all be popping up soon. So keep checking back!

Looking Forward to in 2010…

2009 was good, can 2010 be better? With these albums penciled in for 2010 it looks like we’ll have another good year for rock ‘n’ roll because there’s tons I’m looking forward to! I’ve listed tentative release dates where I could.

Ratt – Infestation (March): Ratt is one of the best bands to spring from the L.A. metal scene, I can’t wait to hear some new music from that.

Scorpions – Sting In The Tail: Well, hopefully we’ll see some new Scorpions. They haven’t gotten a U.S. distribution deal yet, but in this day of the internet, I don’t foresee any problems getting my hands on an import. According to the band, they’re going back to their “early ’80s” sound and scrapping the modern style they had on Humanity: Hour I. That’s a shame because I remember Klaus Meine being pretty adamant about the band not writing anymore “eighties” songs and I like Humanity a lot (which seemed to imply there’d be a sequel). Oh well, I liked 2004’s Unbreakable a lot too (the band’s most recent attempt at having that classic Scorpions sound), so either style they want is good with me.

Avantasia – The Wicked Symphony & Angel of Babylon (April 3): Edguy’s Tobias Sammet, one of my favorite vocalists, is back with his side project and he’s got two albums coming at us at once on the same day. The Scarecrow was really good and Sammet has tons of guest musicians lined up again, I just hope he hasn’t spread himself too thin by releasing two albums’ worth of material.

Read the rest of this entry

%d bloggers like this: