Blog Archives

Albums I Missed in 2009

As in 2008, there were a number of albums released this year that I didn’t get around buying. Money may come from trees but it surely doesn’t grow on them! Some of these albums I’ve been aware of for awhile, others I just recently found out about. Oh well, here’s some 2009 releases I plan on picking up sometime in the near future…

3 Inches of Blood – Here Waits Thy Doom: They finally got rid of their “screamo” vocalist so now it’s all down to Cam Pipes’ shrill pipes. I’ve never had a problem with the music, just the second vocalist. I’ll probably get this one pretty soon because what I’m hearing online is great.

House of Lords – Cartesian Dreams: I had been waffling on this one for quite some time, then I thought I had finally decided to not buy it due to some wimpy songs I heard but I’ve read some more reviews, previewed some more songs and now I desperately want it! I’m no stranger to House of Lords, but I’ve never bought an album by them.

Bulletboys – 10c Billionaire: I’ve actually ordered this album TWICE this year (once from Amazon and once from CD Universe) and both times the order was delayed without notice and in the case of CD Universe they went as far as to delete the listing! I’ve heard cheers and I’ve heard jeers for this album, but I like the two or three songs I’ve heard. I don’t expect to be blown away, but I suspect it’ll be decent. I guess I’ll have to order directly from Chavis Records though.

Read the rest of this entry

3 INCHES OF BLOOD – Advance and Vanquish

3 Inches of Blood – Advance and Vanquish (2004, Roadrunner Records)

1. “Fear on the Bridge (Upon the Boiling Sea I)” … 3:14
2. “Deadly Sinners” … 4:31
3. “Revenge Is a Vulture” … 3:26
4. “Dominion of Deceit” … 4:18
5. “Premonition of Pain” … 4:35
6. “Lord of the Storm (Upon the Boiling Sea II)” … 5:05
7. “Wykydtron” … 3:52
8. “Swordmaster” … 4:24
9. “Axes of Evil” … 4:28
10. “Crazy Nights” … 3:18
11. “Destroy the Orcs” … 2:21
12. “The Phantom of the Crimson Cloak” … 3:11
13. “Isle of Eternal Despair (Upon the Boiling Sea III)” … 3:51

Cam Pipes – “Clean” Vocals
Jamie Hooper – “Screaming” Vocals
Sunny Dhak – Guitar
Bobby Froese – Guitar
Brian Redman – Bass
Matt Wood – Drums

Produced by: Neil Kernon

Okay, first, let me say this is a GREAT band. If you love 80s thrash/power/speed metal, this is a modern band keeping that style of music strong and well worth checking out.

BUT… I HATE HATE HATE the screaming. I think it’s a horrible style of “singing” and despite how much I love the music on Advance and Vanquish, I refuse to pick up another 3 Inches of Blood release until Jamie Hooper is given the boot. It ‘s just awful. Fortunately, he’s splits vocal duties with Cam Pipes, who provides a great falsetto voice in the style of King Diamond & Rob Halford, but every time Hooper opens his mouth, the moment is ruined. “Dominion of Deceit” is one of the worst songs on the album because it features Hooper so heavily.

I know there’s a market for screaming metal, but I ain’t buyin’ it.

Highlights: “Deadly Sinners”, “Revenge Is a Vulture”, “Axes of Evil”, “Crazy Nights”, “Destroy the Orcs”

%d bloggers like this: