Judas Priest – Redeemer of Souls [Single Review]

judas-priest-redeemer-of-souls-album-cover-art-750x0

Judas Priest – Redeemer of Souls [single]
2014, Epic Records
Buy the single at Amazon.com

1. “Redeemer of Souls”

Band:
Rob Halford – Vocals
Glenn Tipton – Guitar
Richie Faulkner – Guitar
Ian Hill – Bass
Scott Travis – Drums

Well, we’re finally getting new Priest music some 6 years after their last release of original music. So far, all we’ve gotten to hear is the album’s title track “Redeemer of Souls” (the album itself is due to be released July 15, 2014 in America) but I thought it was worth talking a bit about. It’s important to note that KK Downing is no longer in the band and while his absence is disappointing and not how I would prefer things to be, I think this track is indication that Richie Faulkner is a fine stand-in to work alongside Glenn Tipton.

For anyone afraid of what the band might release after having done Nostradamus, have no fear. “Redeemer of Souls” is very good metal track and Rob’s voice is in fine condition, better than I expected. In fact, he’s sounding better than he has in years. I wasn’t blown away by the song when I first heard it. My honest reaction was that it was a slightly generic slab of power metal. As I keep listening to it, I’m starting to like it more and more. It does not sound like Judas Priest throughout but you can still hear parts and go, “yes, that’s classic Priest”. I guess if you had to compare this song to an era from the band’s past you could go with Defenders of the Faith?

Most feedback I’m seeing online ranges from “it’s okay” to “it’s good”. I think the song is better than anything from Nostradamus and I also think it compares to some of the best from Angel of Retribution. I’ve seen people say they hope the rest of the album is better than “Redeemer of Souls”, well if that’s going to be the case, I think Priest is going to deliver one heck of an album!

 

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Judas Priest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yup, I agree with you. It’s not The Metal God going all-out falsetto, then again, not every Judas Priest song features that. Strong guitars! It’s a classic Judas Priest sound and this song does grow on you! \m/\m/

  2. It’s too early to really feel a direction for the new album, but Redeemer of Souls isn’t bad. It’s not especially memorable but as an album, usually Priest will put together two sides of metal that works as a record.

Leave a Reply

