Queensryche – Queensryche [Review]

Queensryche-Queensryche

Queensryche
2013, Century Media Records

1. “X2”
2. “Where Dreams Go to Die”
3. “Spore”
4. “In This Light”
5. “Redemption”
6. “Vindication”
7. “Midnight Lullaby”
8. “A World Without”
9. “Don’t Look Back”
10. “Fallout”
11. “Open Road”

Band:
Todd La Torre – Lead Vocals
Michael Wilton – Guitar
Parker Lundgren – Guitar
Eddie Jackson – Bass, Backing Vocals
Scott Rockenfield – Drums, Percussion

Produced by James Barton

Well, I’ve already reviewed TateRyche, I figured I had to give ToddRyche a shot as well! Equal time and all that jazz. As I’ve mentioned before, Queensryche has never been a favorite of mine. I never disliked them, they’ve certainly recorded some very cool songs over the years, but when I bought Operation: Mindcrime I felt that was enough for me. Funny that with the feud, I’m more interested in Queensryche than I ever have been!

I think part of what has helped me enjoy this album so much is that it’s barely 30 minutes long! “X2” and “Midnight Lullaby” are instrumentals that clock in around a minute a piece. I wonder if songwriting/recording for this album was cut short in order to get it out quicker to “compete” with Geoff Tate’s Frequency Unknown. It doesn’t matter. While it’s rare to see these days, I actually think an album that comes in around a half hour is pretty refreshing, especially when I seem to be getting busier and busier!

As for the album, it’s good stuff. Todd La Torre’s vocals are very similar to Geoff Tate but just different enough and the band is full of energy and doesn’t get weighted down by the bore ‘n’ chore of what progressive rock can sometimes be. The major difference between this album and Tate’s is that this one completely embraces the classic Queensryche sound. “A World Without” sounds like something Queensryche did years ago, and I mean that in a good way.

There’s really no attempt at creating a modern hard rock song. It’s just Queensryche being Queensryche with a singer that is perhaps better-suited to sing in this style than Geoff Tate is these days. Frequency Unknown isn’t a bad album, but this self-titled release by his ex-band mates is better. The REAL Queensryche sounds completely re-energized.

Highlights: “Where Dreams Go to Die”, “Spore”, “Redemption”, “A World Without”, “Don’t Look Back”

http://www.queensrycheofficial.com
http://www.facebook.com/QueensrycheOfficial

Buy the album at Amazon.com

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Queensryche and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this album (way more than I expected to) and totally agree with you on the running time. Still not heard Tateryche yet though, so I can’t make any comparison.

Leave a Reply

