Anvil – Juggernaut of Justice

Anvil – Juggernaut Of Justice (2011, The End Records)

1. “Juggernaut of Justice” … 3:40
2. “When Hell Breaks Loose” … 3:11
3. “New Orleans Voo Doo” … 4:25
4. “On Fire” … 3:23
5. “Fuken Eh!” … 4:08
6. “Turn It Up” … 2:57
7. “This Ride” … 3:12
8. “Not Afraid” … 3:44
9. “Conspiracy” … 3:20
10. “Running” … 2:54
11. “Paranormal” … 7:04
12. “Swing Thing” … 3:00
Bonus Tracks
13. “The Station” … 3:24
14. “Tonight Is Coming” … 3:44

Steve “Lips” Kudlow – Vocals, Guitar
Glenn Five – Bass, Vocals
Robb Reiner – Drums

Producer: Bob Marlette

This is more like it! Anvil always sounds like Anvil but I was treading lightly going into this album after the solid but plodding This Is Thirteen. The band has obviously been re-energized since the release of “Anvil: The Story of Anvil” and this is their first new studio release since that documentary came out. With Bob Marlette producing, the band has turned in one of their best sounding albums yet and the entire band really shows just how talented they are. Lips turns in some great work on guitar and Robb is relentless on the drums. Even Glenn Five gets to shine a bit — he handles lead vocals on “This Ride” (and does a darn good job too).

Look, reviewing another Anvil release is like reviewing another Motorhead or AC/DC album. If you like these band, you’ll like each and every album they put out. But Juggernaut of Justice is definitely a step above This Is Thirteen. The album seems to be more aggressive and faster than the last effort. It just goes to show that 30 years on Anvil is still a powerful and relevant heavy metal machine that plays in that fast and furious speed & thrash metal style that to me is best summed up as good ol’ heavy metal! The one time the band does go outside the box on this album is with “Swing Thing”, a surprisingly good instrumental jazz metal number. When I initially heard about the track, I thought it was going to be pretty lame but it actually works pretty well and is one of my favorite tracks off the album.

At fourteen tracks, I thought the album was a bit long but apparently “The Station” and “Tonight Is Coming” are bonus tracks. My copy is apparently a “limited edition” and these two songs are not on the album proper for a reason — they are  standard brain dead heavy metal numbers (“tonight is coming/all day long!”).

Highlights: “Juggernaut of Justice”, “When Hell Breaks Loose”, “New Orleans Voo Doo”, “Fuken Eh!”, “Conspiracy”, “Swing Thing”

Buy ‘Juggernaut of Justice’ at!


Posted on June 9, 2011, in Anvil and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s great to see the best band to have never gotten a break, finally get a break

  2. Their documentary was cool.

    Like bands such as Mr. Big, Anvil is more popular in Japan than anywhere else

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: