Cauldron – Burning Fortune

Cauldron – Burning Fortune (2010, Earache Records)

1. All Or Nothing … 3:55
2. Miss You To Death … 3:43
3. Frozen In Fire … 4:20
4. Tears Have Come … 4:24
5. I Confess … 3:13
6. Rapid City/Unchained Assault … 4:39
7. Queen Of Fire … 4:21
8. Breaking Through … 4:56
9. Taken By Desire … 4:53

Band:
Jason Decay – Vocals, Bass
Ian Chains – Guitar
Chris Steve – Drums

Producer: Jameson Ellison

The biggest gripe I still have about this band is Jason Decay’s vocals. He just doesn’t have the vocal power or charisma to really do the music justice. That is a shame because I think Burning Fortune is quite an improvement over the acceptable but kinda boring Chained To The Nite. I know I’m not the only person saying this either so someone in Camp Cauldron needs to step up and admit it’s time for a new vocalist (and maybe even time to add a 2nd guitar player). From what I understand, this is Decay’s baby, so it’s not like I’m expecting, asking or wanting him to leave the band. Keep playing bass — just get a new singer!

Anyway, the band is still chugging along playing no-frills NWOBHM-inspired heavy metal but this time they are a bit more melodic about it. Heck, “Tears Have Come” borders on acting as an ’80s glam anthem. So it’s good to see the guys are still expanding ever so slightly past the traditional heavy metal sound. They covered Black ‘N’ Blue on the last album but this time they’ve taken another unique route and have covered “Detroit’s Heavy Metal Horror Show” Halloween with “I Confess”. Is it wrong of me to think a cover song is the best song on the album? I’m thinking more about checking out Halloween than I am about listening to the rest of this album! But credit where it’s due, “Miss You To Death” is probably my favorite song the band has written so far.

I don’t mean to bash the band because as I said, I’m enjoying this disc a lot more than the band’s debut. But in addition to the lackluster vocals, I really think the band needs a second guitarist. I’m not knocking Ian Chains at all, does a great job. He pulls off some awesome solos but for a band playing this style of music? I think two guitars would sound better, I like hearing two guitars playing off each other. If three guitarists are good enough for Iron Maiden surely Cauldron can have two?

So while Cauldron hasn’t quite yet delivered a KO in my book, they are continuing to improve. Their debut was fine but bland whereas I actually enjoy Burning Fortune quite a bit. After nearly giving up on them with Chained To The Nite, Cauldron is slowly winning me over (and I’m sure they’re very pleased about that).

Highlights: All Or Nothing, Miss You To Death, I Confess, Queen Of Fire

http://www.facebook.com/CAULDRONmetal
http://www.myspace.com/cauldronmetal

Posted on April 10, 2011, in Cauldron and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

