Black Sabbath – Dehumanizer [Deluxe Edition]

Black Sabbath – Dehumanizer [Deluxe Edition] (2011, EMI Records – UK Import)
Original Release: 1992, Reprise Records

Disc One
1. “Computer God” … 6:10
2. “After All (The Dead)” … 5:37
3. “TV Crimes” … 3:58
4. “Letters from Earth” … 4:12
5. “Master of Insanity” … 5:54
6. “Time Machine” … 4:10
7. “Sins of the Father” … 4:43
8. “Too Late” … 6:54
9. “I” … 5:10
10. “Buried Alive” … 4:47

Disc Two
1. “Master Of Insanity” (Radio Edit) … 4:08
2. “Letters From Earth” (B-Side Version) … 4:42
3. “Time Machine” (Wayne’s World Version) … 4:18
4. “Children Of The Sea” (live) … 6:23
5. “Die Young” (live) … 2:16
6. “TV Crimes” (live) … 4:23
7. “Master Of Insanity” (live) … 7:39
8. “Neon Knights” (live) … 5:34

Band:
Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
Tony Iommi – Guitar
Geezer Butler – Bass
Vinny Appice – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Geoff Nicholls – Keyboards

Produced by: Reinhold Mack

Yet another Black Sabbath deluxe edition release and yet again, it was a must have when I learned of its upcoming release. Dehumanizer is one of Sabbath’s best albums (for my original album review, click here) so it’s great to see it getting remastered and an extra disc of goodies.

Compared to the extras on the deluxe editions of Seventh Star and The Eternal Idol though this collection falls a bit short. The first three tracks on Disc Two are merely alternate versions of the songs from the album. While I don’t think the radio edit of “Master Of Insanity” or the B-side version of “Letters From Earth” have appeared on disc before (I may be wrong), the Wayne’s World take of “Time Machine” was on the original release of Dehumanizer. Here, it’s now considered a bonus track.

Nonetheless, what really interested me with this reissue were the five live tracks. All were taken from a show on July 25, 1992 at the Sundome in Tampa, Florida. I mean, it’s Sabbath live. You really can’t go wrong, especially with Ronnie on the vocals. I don’t think this would be an essential pick up for most Sabbath fans, but for the hardcore fans of Dio/Dehumanizer, it’s a good purchase. You get the typical nice packaging that comes with these deluxe editions, a booklet featuring some backstory to the reunion with Dio, plus the extra disc of bonus tracks.

www.blacksabbath.com

Buy the Deluxe Edition at Amazon.com

Posted on April 9, 2011, in Black Sabbath and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I haven’t heard this album because the only “non-Ozzy” album I’ve ever owned is Seventh Star…I’m an Ozzy-fan—I prefer the “original” line-up. But I might check this one out due to your recommendation.

    >a show on July 25, 1992 at the Sundome in Tampa, Florida

    I grew up near Tampa…but by 1992 I had already been living here in Tokyo for two years.

  2. I didn’t even know Dehumanizer was out in the Deluxe version yet, Now I gotta get the three Dio albums in their deluxe editions. if only Live Evil got extra goodies too! Anyways it is just getting added to a never ending list of cds to get 😀

  3. Very cool I was at that show, the opening act was Danzig and I was excited because this was and remains my favorite version of Black Sabbath

  4. Shame it took the death of Ronnie James Dio before he finally got the respect he deserved. I shall listen to this album.

Leave a Reply

