HARDCORE SUPERSTAR – Split Your Lip

Hardcore Superstar – Split Your Lip [UK Import] (2010, Nuclear Blast Records)

1. “Sadistic Girls” – 4:06
2. “Guestlist” – 4:02
3. “Last Call for Alcohol” – 3:24
4. “Split Your Lip” – 3:19
5. “Moonshine” – 3:57
6. “Here Comes That Sick Bitch” – 3:21
7. “What Did I Do” – 3:51
8. “Bully” – 3:28
9. “Won’t Go to Heaven” – 3:04
10. “Honeymoon” – 3:28
11. “Run to Your Mama” – 4:58

Band:
Jocke Berg- Vocals
Vic Zino – Guitar
Martin Sandvik – Bass, Backing Vocals
ADDE Andreason – Drums

Producer: Tobias Lindell

As is the case every year, I end up picking up a few albums from the previous year that I either didn’t know about or just never got around to picking up. I had honest intentions for purchasing Split Your Lip in 2010 but I think import prices were kinda high so I was price-watching for used copies on Amazon. The only album I was familiar with by Hardcore Superstar previous to this album was 2007’s Dreamin’ In A Casket, which I liked but didn’t knock my socks off. I almost picked up 2009’s Beg For It when that was released but feedback seemed to be so mixed I decided against it. Well, given that album cover to Split Your Lip was right up my alley, I HAD to have this CD reviews be damned.

So is the music just as awesome as the cover is cunning? YES. I’ve said it many times in the past but had I heard this album last year, I think it would have definitely made my Top 10 list. If you’re not familiar with Hardcore Superstar they are heavy metal, they are sleaze metal, they are glam metal and they drag it all into modern times. They aren’t a retro act, it’s modern sleaze metal but it still retains a heavy quality that could have the band opening comfortably for either Motley Crue or Avenged Sevenfold. I’ve even seen some sites list them as thrash metal, which gave me pause and after I thought about it, I guess some parts of their music can be thrashy (such as the opening moments of “Honeymoon”) but the thrash influence is just a drop in the sleaze bucket and I would have never thought to have categorized them as that myself.

They’ve been at it for over 10 years now and it’s a shame they haven’t found success that parallels what they have achieved in their home country of Sweden (#1 singles and Grammy awards over there. Even a cult following seems like it would be appropriate given the band’s looks and sound. Maybe something for the Hot Topic crowd? The anthemic “Sadistic Girls” and the ballad “Run To Your Mama” (which is just epic to me) seem tailor-made for the tattooed, pierced and pale. Meanwhile, “Here Comes That Sick Bitch” seems like a great single for U.S. radio. If I was a deejay I’d play it! But what do I know?

Split Your Lip is an album full of sleaze the way it should be played — with big choruses and big hooks. I’m definitely amongst the converted now and plan on going back and checking out the older material.

Highlights: “Sadistic Girls”, “Last Call for Alcohol”, “Split Your Lip”, “Moonshine”, “Here Comes That Sick Bitch”, “Honeymoon”, “Run to Your Mama”

http://www.hardcoresuperstar.com
https://www.facebook.com/OfficialHardcoreSuperstar
http://www.myspace.com/hardcoresuperstar

Posted on March 30, 2011, in Hardcore Superstar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have their debut album and “Beg For It”. This album also got my attention when it was released but I never picked it up since, although I like the two albums of theirs that I have, I’m not overwhelmed with them.

    But, after reading your review, I may just get this album now.

  2. I like all the records they released since HARDCORE SUPERSTAR from 2005 (before they were a different band all together, more punk rock). This new album is good. Great review.

Leave a Reply

