SALIVA – Under Your Skin

Saliva – Under Your Skin (2011, Island Records)

1. “Badass” … 3:05
2. “Better Days” … 3:40
3. “Nothing” … 3:07
4. “Hate Me” … 4:02
5. “Never Should’ve Let You Go” … 3:33
6. “Prove Me Wrong” … 3:30
7. “Burn It Up” … 2:57
8. “Toxic Suicide” … 2:45
9. “Turn the Lights On” … 3:49
10. “Spotlight” … 3:11

Band:
Josey Scott – Lead Vocals
Wayne Swinny – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Dave Novotny – Bass, Backing Vocals
Paul Crosby – Drums

Producer: Howard Benson

With the band seemingly topping themselves with each new release, when I found out a new Saliva album was underway, I took notice. Cinco Diablo was easily the best of the band’s catalog so I was pretty interested in hearing this one. I first got into the band when most people did — with Every Six Seconds. Though I don’t think the band has ever delivered a knockout album, everything they *have* released has at least qualified as good.

I was kind of disappointed when I read some statements from Josey Scott where he talked about going back to the rap metal that the band originally was so fond of. Sure, it was fine for the time but it just seemed like an unnecessary step back as I don’t think the nostalgia factor has kicked in yet for that subgenre. Hopefully it never will and luckily this album isn’t really to relive 1999 or 2001. “Badass” and “Burn It Up” are really the only two songs that retread Saliva’s earlier sound and they are fine for what they are. They sound like Saliva.

As much as I liked Cinco Diablo, I like Under My Skin that much more. This is the band’s finest moment. For my money, the band has turned in their best effort yet. 10 songs and very little filler here. Whether it’s the bravado chest-thumping “Badass”, rock radio ready songs like “Nothing”, “Better Days” & “Spotlight” or the ballads “Never Should’ve Let You Go” & “Turn The Lights On” (Saliva has always done very well with their ballads), the album has stuck me and I can’t get it out of my head. “Toxic Suicide” is another favorite of mine, it has a slightly darker edge to it than the rest of the songs.

I bought this album to the day it came out and I must have listened to it nearly 10 times all the way through in that short amount of time. Some albums I listen to and even though I enjoy them I’m ready to move on to the next album but Under My Skin has stayed in my player for the majority of the week. I’m not getting tired of it and there’s no reason this album should not be a big hit. Well, other than the fact that the music industry has screwed itself to oblivion. So far, “Badass” and “Nothing” have been released as singles. I’m surprised neither has charted but I definitely think “Better Days”, “Turn The Lights On” and/or “Never Should’ve Let You Go” all deserve to get released to radio as well. Really, most of this album is radio ready though. The hooks, catchy choruses and melodies are all over the place.

Anyone who likes Saliva will like this album as well, I think. I guess Saliva is one of the more mainstream sounding rock bands that I listen to but they are so much more catchier than most of what makes it onto radio so that’s why I keep coming back for more.

Highly recommended, strong contender to make my Top 10 list for 2011.

Highlights: “Better Days”, “Nothing”, “Never Should’ve Let You Go”, “Toxic Suicide”, “Turn The Lights On”

http://www.saliva.com
https://www.facebook.com/Saliva

Buy Saliva’s ‘Under Your Skin’ at Amazon.com

Posted on March 26, 2011, in Saliva and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I bought this new Saliva this past Friday… after reading this review I can surely agree with your points you’ve made! Yeah… if we all depended on mainstream FM to play the cool and good “new stuff” then we would never know what’s even out there!

  2. I know basically nothing about Saliva. I heard their name, and that’s all. But I stumbled upon “Nothing” a few days ago, and I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of the album. What’s with the rap metal style?! I really hope they changed their style, I’m not that into rap rock or something like this. If the album will sound like a good rock record with some style, it’ll be fine to me, I’m pretty open when it comes to music, but I’m truly not when it comes to be unnecessarily brutal (Death or Black Metal among others..)

    • Rap rock was their old style. Since then, they had gone on to be more of post-grunge/southern rock act. Check out the song “Badass” and that’s pretty much old school Saliva. That sound isn’t prevalent on this disc and I think this is their most melodic album to date. Basically the whole album sounds like something you would hear on the radio these days. I sometimes would say something like that as an insult but in this case, it’s a compliment. 😉

      • Well, I checked “Badass” out…it’s not bad, but if the rest of the album is more melodic, I’m gonna get the cd. It reminds me of some early Linkin Park…kind of. I know what you mean when you say that this record is more “commercial”, and I personally think it’s better this way…of course Saliva’s long time fans will disagree, but since I’m not one of them. Well thanks then, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

