Hunted – Welcome The Dead

Hunted – Welcome the Dead (2010, self-released)

1. “Welcome The Dead (Intro)” … 1:20
2. “The Silence of Minds” … 6:04
3. “Chosen” … 4:29
4. “Aria (In Memoriam)” … 8:49
5. “The Incident” … 0:34
6. “Impaled” … 5:11
7. “Scars” … 5:23
8. “I Want Nothing” … 5:42
9. “Shadows” … 7:01
10. “The Heart Collector” … 5:49

Chris G – Vocals
Steven Barberini – Guitar
Jon Letson – Bass
Matt ‘Animal’ Thomas – Drums

Produced by: Tim Hamill & Hunted

Based out of Wales, Hunted are a band that’s 100% metal but they provide a few slight twists and turns throughout Welcome the Dead. Progressive, thrash, power and melodic metal really seem to be the key ingredients in making up this album. These guys were obviously influenced by bands like Metallica, Dream Theater, Iced Earth, Iron Maiden, Helloween and Nevermore (who they cover on this album with “The Heart Collector”). Vocalist Chris G reminds me a lot of Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens and Warrel Dane so he’s certainly more than able to handle these songs with power, precision and pitch. The production is great and I felt the drums especially were captured very well.

To be honest, this album took me a few spins to get into it. That’s not a knock on Hunted, that’s usually the norm for me when it comes to any band with a progressive sound. I’ve since been able to sit back and soak in the wonderful hooks, melodies, riffs and vocals. Hunted is really a band that should be on some type of label somewhere, they’re just that good. Songs like “Scars” and “The Silence of Minds” are pretty fantastic and need a wider audience. This band obviously knows what they are doing. The music and the CD packaging have superior production values, so hopefully this album will get them onto a label so they can gain some more exposure.

Welcome the Dead is a very good find for progressive/power metal fans.

Highlights: “The Silence of Minds”, “Chosen”, “Scars”, “Shadows”

Buy the album in MP3 format at

Posted on March 20, 2011, in Hunted and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. They sound like they might be a good band. As my son lives in Wales, I’ll have to ask him.

  2. Checked out this band last month on their myspaz and bought the album to give em a chance cz there are some album tracks on myspace with some demo versions. Best album i’ve heard in years, Hunted have the potential to be up there with the best if they get the exposure that they deserve. Where are all the record label scouts, they could make some money off a deal with these guys. My musical tastes range from old bands like sabbath, zep, hawkwind and maiden to more recent bands such as ed guy, sonata artica and now hunted with some rammstein thrown in all depending on what mood i’m in at the time naturally.
    In short, i can recommend this hunted album to all simply because of it’s ability to carry it’s own weight in the quality sounds that it delivers.

    • Not sure where the talent scouts are these days, mosherman. Considering what gets played on radio… do they even exist ? 😛

      If I ever win the lotto I’m going to set up my own label…

  3. Hunted make use of dissonant chords and alternative chords than just the classic rock power chords, and I think that is refreshing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: