Hinder – All American Nightmare

Hinder – All American Nightmare [Deluxe Edition] (2010, Universal Republic Records)

1. “2 Sides of Me” … 3:24
2. “All American Nightmare” … 3:17
3. “What Ya Gonna Do” … 4:07
4. “Hey Ho” … 3:34
5. “The Life” … 3:37
6. “Waking Up the Devil” … 4:12
7. “Red Tail Lights” … 3:48
8. “Strip Tease” … 3:29
9. “Everybody’s Wrong” … 3:41
10. “Put That Record On” … 3:38
11. “Good Life” … 3:35
12. “Bad Mutha Fucka” … 3:34
13. “Put That Record On” (demo version) … 3:43
14. “What Ya Gonna Do” (demo version) … 4:14

Band:
Austin Winkler – Lead Vocals
Joe “Blower” Garvey – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Mark King – Guitar, Piano, Backing Vocals
Mike Rodden – Bass, Backing Vocals
Cody Hanson – Drums

Producer: Kevin Churko, Cody Nason, Marshal Dutton

I became a big fan of Hinder with their last release Take It to the Limit. It was one of the best surprises of the year for me and was a good mix of post-grunge hard rock and ’80s hair metal from a band that had previously only been a boring post-grunge group. With All American Nightmare, the band continues with much of the same blended styles of Take It to the Limit while throwing in a bit of Southern rock influence as well that sometimes reminds of Shinedown or later Saliva. Apparently, the band had even more free rein for this record than they did for the last and that is where the Southern rock vibe comes in.

I think from top to bottom this album is even better than Take It to the Limit. That album was still trying to figure out it’s place between ’80s rock and ’00s rock but this album is much more sure of itself giving the obligatory “modern” “Waking Up the Devil” (maybe Hinder at their heaviest), “What Ya Gonna Do”, “The Life” and “Red Tail Lights”, “Everybody’s Wrong” (the last four are all ballads and have single potential for modern radio), while “Striptease” sounds like a modern Crue song and “All American Nightmare” and “Put That Record On” (an ode to classic rock!) have a classic rock and southern influence. They even take the time to take a few jabs at all the worthless female pop stars with “Striptease” and knock hip-hop with “Hey Ho”.

If there’s one problem I have it’s the lyrics. I love that the guys are throwing back to the broads ‘n’ booze lyrics of the ’80s but I find the constant references to getting high and smoking weed to be annoying. It seems like just about every song has to make some type of mention of it and they’ve been going on about it for three albums now.

I don’t listen to radio but I know “All American Nightmare” was the lead single. I don’t know how much play it has gotten but unfortunately it does not look like this album will match the success of Take It to the Limit‘s gold status as this album debuted at #37 on Billboard with first-week sales of 35,000. Hopefully another single to set the album on fire. It’s just a shame that when any band tries to incorporate more melody, classic rock styles and sing-along choruses they get shunned by fans and labels alike. I can’t believe nu-metal garbage like Disturbed is still selling 10 years later and is really bigger than ever. Are people really still that angry? Is it the SAME people from 10 years ago?

I bought the deluxe edition for a few extra bucks just because I’m such a big fan of these guys now. Tracks 11-14 and a mini foldout poster with the band on one side and All American Nightmare cover model Jesse Lee Denning on the other side. The demo tracks are basically throwaways but I like “Bad Mutha Fucka”, it’s a jokey, fun and loose kind of song. I gotta hand it to these Hinder boys — they really know how to put together artwork for the album! There’s no naked chicks this time but Jesse is incredibly hot. It’s not always easy for a girl to have so many tattoos and make it seem sexy but Jesse has no problem doing it!

Really enjoying this album, loving it the more I listen to it and I’m glad Hinder came around to playing REAL rock ‘n’ roll! As far as I’m concerned Hinder has joined Buckcherry and Avenged Sevenfold as one of the best modern rock/metal acts today.

Highlights: “2 Sides of Me”, “All American Nightmare”, “Hey Ho”, “Waking up the Devil”, “Strip Tease”, “Put That Record On”

http://www.hindermusic.com
http://www.facebook.com/Hinder
http://www.myspace.com/hindermusic

Posted on December 18, 2010, in Hinder and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I agree with your review of this completely.
    I got this album yesterday. It’s their best album so far, I think.

    >Hinder has joined…Avenged Sevenfold as one of the best modern rock/metal acts today.

    I got the new Avenged Sevenfold album last week. It’s great.

    Coincidently, their latest album titles are similar: “All American Nightmare” and “Nightmare”.

  2. I have to agree, the more I listen to this new Hinder album, the more it grows on me. Honestly, there is not one bad song on it. It’s not like Hinder unlocked the key to something entirely different either, this band just knows how to play some “good-times Hard Rockin’ songs! Plus… the cover and liner notes photos of Jesse are worth the $$$ alone! 🙂

  3. You’ve turned me on to some great music in the past, so I decided to give Hinder a chance too. I downloaded this album and “Take It To The Limit” yesterday from the Zune Marketplace using my Zune Pass… just to try them out. I really like both albums and will probably end buying them. Definitely one of the better modern (and popular) hard rock bands.

  4. I agree with everything. I’m still not sure which one is the best, this or their previuos one, but who cares. “Red Tail lights” is another magic moment, and I love Austin Winkler’s voice.

  1. Pingback: Saving Abel – Miss America « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

