Halford – Made of Metal

Halford – Made of Metal (2010, Metal God Records)

1. “Undisputed” … 5:17
2. “Fire and Ice” … 2:52
3. “Made of Metal” … 4:01
4. “Speed of Sound” … 4:32
5. “Like There’s No Tomorrow” … 4:20
6. “Till the Day I Die” … 3:50
7. “We Own the Night” … 3:54
8. “Heartless” … 3:38
9. “Hell Razor” … 3:44
10. “Thunder and Lightning” … 5:28
11. “Twenty Five Years” … 7:01
12. “Matador” … 5:39
13. “I Know We Stand a Chance” … 3:51
14. “The Mower” … 4:40

Band:
Rob Halford – Vocals
Roy Z – Guitar
Mike Chlasciak – Guitar
Mike Davis – Bass
Bobby Jarzombek – Drums

Producer: Roy Z

Ah, this is more like it! The Halford band was one of the best bands to come out of the last decade but a reunited Judas Priest put the group on hold for a long time (even though that didn’t stop Rob from remastering and reissuing the band’s three albums previous ad nauseum). A comeback was made last year in the form of the odd, yet enjoyable Winter Songs but now Halford is back with an album that sounds much more like Resurrection than Crucible and that’s okay by me. Crucible was a bit too angry and heavy to me and lacked hooks. Resurrection on the other hand was one of the my favorite albums from the last decade and Made of Metal (sometimes referred to as Halford IV: Made of Metal) is easily one of the top albums of 2010 in the very least.

I was really looking forward to this album but the album’s first single “The Mower” didn’t thrill me (though I didn’t hate it). Luckily, “Made of Metal” was put online, accompanied by a very cheesy NASCAR-inspired CGI video, and gave me much more optimism for this album. By the way, what’s up with the NASCAR stuff? Even in press releases for the album they would mention the unofficial NASCAR connection with the “Made of Metal” video. There’s no licensing deal that I’m aware of but it seems like like maybe Rob was fishing for one.

As I said earlier, the album isn’t as heavy as Crucible, much of it sounds like the commercial metal that you might’ve heard from Priest during the mid-’80s. “Speed Of Sound” and “We Own The Night” have an obvious commercial flair, “Undisputed” is a lyrically cheesy but still very catchy anthem and “Hell Razor” sounds like late ’70s/early ’80s Judas Priest. On the flip side, “The Mower” is an absolutely brutal metal number in which Halford’s vocals get downright nasty.

Then there’s “Till The Die I Day” which is a surprisingly bluesy outlaw of a rocker that reminds me of something Whitesnake would do and “Thunder and Lightning” has a bit of boogie I didn’t expect from Halford either while “Matador” appropriately has a south of the border feel to it. I really like the variety on this album. The album is similar in sound to Priest, Fight and previous Halford efforts while a song like “I Know We Stand A Chance” brings to mind H.I.M. and other similar sounding goth rock bands.

I knew this album had potential to be good but I also thought it could’ve been a train wreck. Luckily Rob and Roy Z have turned in one of the best albums of the year and Rob’s voice shows no signs of slowing down. A lot of reviews have bashed the lyrics but who cares? It’s good MUSIC! Great album.

Highlights: “Fire And Ice”, “Made Of Metal”, “Like There’s No Tomorrow”, “Till The Day I Die”, “We Own The Night”, “Twenty Five Years”, “I Know We Stand A Chance”

http://www.robhalford.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rob-Halford/136458273486
http://www.myspace.com/robhalford

Posted on October 9, 2010, in Halford and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Excellent review and looking forward to buying this CD hopefully in the near future

  2. I really dig this new Halford album… only the song “Made Of Metal” has me asking why? I agree, one of the best albums of the year.

    Stone

    • What don’t you like about that song?

      • I don’t like the electronica voice that is heard in the song “Made Of Metal”. It just gives me bad memories of “Mr. Roboto” from the legendary Styx. Seriously, adding this into a song makes it dated. This is an outrageously great album from Halford… one of the best from 2010. With that said, the title track just does not “fit” into this albums song list. Not every album needs a “title track”, this one could have been left out for a future “rarities” album from Halford.

  3. I’m glad to hear you like the CD. I’ve always bought the new Halford release as soon as possible, but I’ve been holding off on this one. Probably because my budget is tighter and the negative reviews were getting to me. But I think I’m going to go for it. Like you, I loved Resurrection, but was slightly disappointed with Crucible.

    Btw, have you heard of the band Bad City? Check out the single Wildlife on youtube, they’re good.

  4. Glad to hear you like the CD. I’ve always bought the new Halford release as soon as possible, but I’ve been holding off on this one. Probably because my budget is tighter and the negative reviews were getting to me. But I think I’m going to go for it. Like you, I loved Resurrection, but was slightly disappointed with Crucible.

    Btw, have you heard of the band Bad City? Check out the single Wildlife on youtube, they’re good.

    • Yeah, this is definitely worth picking up. It’s really a mix of all eras of Halford’s recording career.

      I haven’t heard of Bad City before but I’m listening to “Wildlife” right now… Pretty good!

      • I thought you might like them. They have a song titled “Call Paul Stanley”. That’s what sparked my curiosity. I bought a Zune HD last week and used my Zune Pass (14 day free trial) to download the entire album. It’s really good. I know I’m going to buy the CD when my zune pass trial expires.

  1. Pingback: Scheepers – Scheepers « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

