Black Sabbath – Live Evil

Black Sabbath – Live Evil [Remastered] (2004, Sanctuary Records)
Original Release: 1982, Warner Bros. Records

1. “E5150” … 2:21
2. “Neon Knights” … 4:36
3. “N.I.B.” … 5:09
4. “Children of the Sea” … 6:05
5. “Voodoo” … 6:07
6. “Black Sabbath” … 8:39
7. “War Pigs” … 9:19
8. “Iron Man” … 7:29
9. “The Mob Rules” … 4:10
10. “Heaven and Hell” … 12:04
11. “The Sign of the Southern Cross”/”Heaven and Hell” (continued) … 7:15
12. “Paranoid” … 3:46
13. “Children of the Grave” … 5:25
14. “Fluff” … 0:59

Band:
Ronnie James Dio – Vocals
Tony Iommi – Guitar
Geezer Butler – Bass
Vinny Appice – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Geoff Nicholls – Keyboards

Producer: Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler

The album that broke the band. The Iommi & Butler/Dio & Appice Mix Wars that went on with this album are well documented so I won’t even comment further. If this was to be the final album of the Dio Sabbath regime, it’s a great note to go out on. After the excellent Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules, Live Evil was a great way to document this newly energized version of Sabbath and it’s interesting to hear Ronnie James Dio’s take on some of the Ozzy songs.

As I’ve said elsewhere though, only Ozzy can really do Ozzy. I’m not saying Ozzy is a better singer than Dio, Gillan, Hughes or Martin — what I’m saying is Dio, Gillan, Hughes and Martin are too good of singers to pull off the poor whiny vocals required to make the Ozzy material work but I do quite enjoy the Dio version of “N.I.B.”.

Anyway, it’s Sabbath live with Dio. It’s going to be a great show. They run through a great collection of Dio and Ozzy tunes with gusto and this is rightfully an essential Sabbath release and it’s the very first official live album in their discography as well. What else can I say? It’s a metal classic!

Highlights: “Neon Knights”, “N.I.B.”, “Children of the Sea”, “The Mob Rules”, “Heaven and Hell”, “The Sign of the Southern Cross”/”Heaven and Hell” (continued)

www.blacksabbath.com
www.heavenandhelllive.com
www.myspace.com/heavenandhelllive

Posted on October 2, 2010, in Black Sabbath and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >the poor whiny vocals required to make the Ozzy material work

    I’ve always been a fan of the late Ronnie James Dio, especially his solo work…but Ozzy Osbourne is one of my all-time favorite artists. And there is no Black Sabbath that can compare to the original line-up.

  2. I beg to differ tokyo, the Dio years to me are the best, I notice that you got the single disc version which cuts iout some commentary I believe, I think Dio really makes NIB a better song adding more passion to the song like “My name is Lucifer Please take my hand!”

  3. I prefer the Dio version of Sabbath also, but that maybe because I have played those early iconic Sabbath albums to death as a kid

Leave a Reply

