BILL & TED’S BOGUS JOURNEY – Music From The Motion Picture

Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey – Music From The Motion Picture (1991, Interscope Records)

1. “Shout It Out” – Slaughter … 4:20
2. “Battle Stations” – Winger … 4:02
3. “God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll to You II” – KISS … 5:23
4. “Drinking Again” – Neverland … 4:56
5. “Dream of a New Day” – Richie Kotzen … 3:17
6. “The Reaper” – Steve Vai … 3:20
7. “The Perfect Crime” – Faith No More … 4:26
8. “Go to Hell” – Megadeth … 4:36
9. “Tommy the Cat” – Primus … 4:14
10. “Junior’s Gone Wild” – King’s X … 3:09
11. “Showdown” – Love On Ice … 6:20
12. “The Reaper Rap” – Steve Vai … 4:27

Even though I already own “God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll to You II” and “Go to Hell” elsewhere, I bought this album basically just because it looked like a fun one and essentially an ’80s hair/heavy metal compilation. Some of these songs were written exclusively for this Bill & Ted sequel (“Go to Hell”, “Battle Stations”, “Shout It Out”, “The Reaper”) while other songs had appeared elsewhere or would be doing so shortly (“Drinking Again”, “God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll to You II”, “Tommy the Cat”).

It’s an interesting release that documents some of the final days of hair metal. It’s also interesting because it mixes Slaughter,Winger and KISS with Megadeth, Faith No More and Primus! Winger’s “Battle Stations” and Steve Vai’s “The Reaper” seem to be the two songs that get the most praise from this album and while I don’t necessarily think they are the soundtrack’s best songs, they are very good and definite highlights. Predictably, KISS and Megadeth are the best moments for me.

The title of the movie was originally going to be called Bill & Ted Go to Hell, so the movie studio specifically wanted Megadeth to write a song called “Go to Hell”. Which Dave Mustaine did, but then the title of the movie got changed and some people at the the time thought Dave was ripping off an Alice Cooper title or just plain doing a cover song. I for one thought it was a cover song (which would’ve been really cool) and was slightly disappointed years ago when I found out it was an original. It’s still a good song though. Another note about “Go to Hell” are these spoken words:

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the lord my soul to keep
If I should die before I wake
I pray the lord my soul to take

Sound familiar? Metallica would also use these same lines (granted, it’s from a prayer) a few months later for “Enter Sandman”. Dave of course flipped out but who knows? Maybe it was just a coincidence or maybe “Enter Sandman” was recorded first. Lyrics aside, I think the song even starts out similar sounding to “Enter Sandman”.

Overall, this is a decent disc to spin if you’re a fan of this type of ’80s rock/metal. Definitely worth the $0.79 or so I paid for it!

Highlights: “Battle Stations”, “God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll to You II”, “Drinking Again”, “The Reaper”, “Go to Hell”

Posted on August 23, 2010, in Soundtracks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I also thought Megadeth’s “Go To Hell” was an Alice Cooper remake, especially since Megadeth redid “No More Mr Nice Guy” on the “Shocker” OST.

    And I was also surprised that Metallica used the “…lay me down to sleep” line after Megadeth did.
    I like how Megadeth ends theirs with “Blah, blah, blah” better though.

    Even though I bought this soundtrack for the KISS and Megadeth tracks specifically (it came out before KISS “Revenge”, so I hadn’t heard the KISS song until after I bought it)…I only like the Megadeth song.

    I think “God Gave Rock ‘N Roll To You” isn’t a very good song…so I was disappointed (and surprised) that KISS added it to their “Revenge” and “Alive III” albums.

    BTW, I wrote a post about a Japanese band that wears KISS-like make-up…
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2010/08/24/seikima2/

  2. I am with Tokyo 5 on God gave rock n roll to you. It drags horribly. Very dull song. I used to have this on cassette, but probably have not heard in at least 15 years.

  3. I bought this CD at a thrift store a couple of years ago for 97 cents! Looks like we both scored it for under a buck! I had this on cassette for years… upgrading to CD finally for the nickels and dimes it cost was well worth it.

    Dave Mustaine has every right to be annoyed that Metallica used the same spoken words as they did. Coincidence perhaps… yet I’m on Dave Mustaine’s side with this one.

    I revere KISS (of course) and get ostrich bumps all over my arms and forehead every time I crank up “God Gave Rock ‘n’ Roll To You”. Whoa… that song makes me feel gooood.

    I predict this CD will be a sought after Metal collectible someday soon!

    Stone

  4. I notice you don’t really talk about Shout It Out, but I like about half of this cd, adly there isn’t many cd stores around where I live, they all close but also far, they aren’t conveniently located so I would most likely get this off the internet for a couple bucks like amazon or ebay. I sorta like God gave Rock n Roll To You II

    • Yeah, Amazon is where I picked up my copy.

      “Shout It Out” was fairly generic, I think. Not bad, but nothing special. Basically, it sums up how I feel about Slaughter. 😀

  5. What is interesting is what you mentioned earlier. There was a real cool period where the hard rock bands and the grunge bands co-existed. I remember seeing Soundgarden open for Skid Row and also Voivod and The Big F. It is a shame that we in the States seem to have an all or nothing attitude when it comes to music trends. I remember when Subhuman Race came out and I was playing it in the CD store I worked at. People loved it but when I told them who it was the turned up their nose. I told one person to not worry and the cool police would not punish the,m.
    I liked that Metallica also used that prayer/phrase. Anything to help Mustaine go crazy with his own paranoia.

    • Yeah, and Alice In Chains once opened for Poison. Of course, those grunge/alt. bands HATED having to associate with those “eighties” bands but oh well. 😛

      ’90-’92 was definitely a cool mixture of bands when you look back at tours and compilations and soundtracks. The hair & heavy metal bands’ commercial appeal was waning but they were still “stars” and grunge bands were building a buzz. It was only natural for the bands on the rise and bands on the decline to be on the same level at some point and end up doing shows together, even if the music was totally different.

  6. This is the song that should have been on the soundtrack…

    ‘For The Love’ by Neverland

Leave a Reply

