BUCKCHERRY – All Night Long

Buckcherry – All Night Long [Best Buy Exclusive Limited Edition] (2010, Eleven Seven Music)

Disc 1: All Night Long

1. “All Night Long” … 3:54
2. “It’s a Party” … 3:44
3. “These Things” … 3:52
4. “Oh My Lord” … 3:38
5. “Recovery” … 3:01
6. “Never Say Never” … 3:43
7. “I Want You” … 3:43
8. “Liberty” … 4:16
9. “Our World” … 3:50
10. “Bliss” … 3:56
11. “Dead” … 5:24

Disc 2: Reckless Sons Acoustic EP

1. ‘These Things” … 3:58
2. “Fire Off Your Guns”  … 3:46
3. “Black Butterfly” … 3:47
4. “King of Kings” … 4:49
5. “My Friend” … 3:58
6. “Grace” … 4:20

Band:
Josh Todd – Lead Vocals
Keith Nelson – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Stevie D. – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Jimmy Ashhurst – Bass, Backing Vocals
Xavier Muriel – Drums, Percussion

Producer: Marti Frederikson & Keith Nelson

All Night Long is one of my most anticipated albums for 2010. The release of the singles “All Night Long” and “Our World” gave me great hope for this album. I was a big supporter of this band when their debut album hit back in ’99 but then they kinda drifted away after the release of Time Bomb but made a great rock ‘n’ roll comeback with 15 in 2006. 2008’s Black Butterfly was the band’s finest moment in my opinion (though most disagree) and their Live & Loud 2009 release is one of my favorite live albums of all time. I guess maybe in my eyes this band can do no wrong at this point. I’ve been lucky enough to see them in concert three times and they’re one of few real rock bands left. They have a classic sound and look but aren’t retro. Simply put, Buckcherry is good sleazy rock ‘n’ roll.

I pre-ordered the Best Buy edition because it was only $9.99 and also it comes with an “exclusive” second disc — the Reckless Sons Acoustic EP. Well, I guess Best Buy is correct in saying this version of Reckless Sons is exclusive because while they are offering six acoustic tracks, iTunes is offering seven (an acoustic version of “Sorry” is the extra track). It’s a shame digital music gets preferred treatment these days but that’s just the way it goes when CD sales continue to drop. I don’t download albums so I guess I’ll have to settle for this inferior Best Buy version of the EP.

The Acoustic EP is good for what it is. The original plan for the album was for all of it to be acoustic but they scrapped that idea presumably after all these acoustic songs were written. The songs are what you would expect: ballads and mid-tempo numbers. Not really something I would want a full album of but for bonus content it’s pretty good. Some of these songs would have fit in well onto the actual All Night Long album. The song “Black Butterfly” was actually written for the album of the same name but for whatever reason was not included.

As for the actual All Night Long album, for any that were disappointed by the detour the band took a bit with Black Butterfly, I think they’ll find much to like here. The album is straight-forward meat & potatoes rock ‘n’ roll. It’s Buckcherry doing what they do best — sleazy rock songs about sex and partying. There is no “Crazy Bitch” or “Too Drunk…” here and maybe that’s a good thing. I’m glad they’re not trying to re-write previous hits. I have found every single song to be enjoyable, no filler here.  Of course, there’s the few obligatory ballads but I think that’s an area where Buckcherry excels. “These Things” and “I Want You” fit in just fine with the rest of the great ballads this band has written.

In a cool nod to their debut, the album cover and inside art features photos of a live model made up to look like the painting of the girl on the cover of their debut. Apparently, her name is “Cherry Girl”. And the real girl is pretty hot!

Okay, I do have one complaint — the first disc seems to have trouble playing my computer. Reckless Sons will play just fine but All Night Long seems to have a 99.9% fail rate on this computer. I have tried it on a laptop, two DVD players and a car and it plays there fine with no problems but I guess it hates my computer. I’ve only been able to get it to play once and that was after I had restarted the computer. I ended up ejecting the disc to listen to Reckless Sons and then went to put All Night Long back in and it was back to not playing! This is very frustrating because I listen to 98% of my music on my computer.

Other than that, this is an amazing release and it’s a very strong contender to be my favorite album of the year.

Highlights: “All Night Long”, “These Things”, “Oh My Lord”, “Never Say Never”, “I Want You”, “Our World”, “Dead”, “Fire Off Your Guns”, “My Friend”

www.buckcherry.com
www.myspace.com/buckcherry

Posted on August 4, 2010, in Buckcherry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. maybe your computer needs a new disc drive, also I agree with you on the digital music, I think bonus stuff should go to cds as well.

    • I STILL cannot get it to work. It worked ONE time and that was it. I even restarted the computer and it still won’t read. Any other CD will read but this one.

      • but didn’t you have problems with Death Magnetic? Myabe it is made not to work on a computer for coppyright purposes so people can’t distribute copies to other people brn ripping and burning songs or put them on the internet, I am sure you can contact Best Buy or something and compain, maybe even get some help too

  2. Yeah, I just sent Best Buy an email. I’m sure they’ll let me exchange it. I ordered it online so we’ll see what their website will do for me but I’ll probably have to drive into the next town’s Best Buy to actually do the exchange.

  3. Thanks for sharing your review with us. I saw BuckCherry live when they opened for KISS here last year. They only played for an hour but they were very entertaining to watch. I never saw so many tattoos on one guy before in my life…lol!

  4. i too have the problem with “all night long” not reading on my laptop, which sux, because i like backing up cds and then putting them on my ipod. why would they allow you play the ep on a computer and not the full length cd? doesnt make sense.

Leave a Reply

