SISTER SIN – True Sound of the Underground

Sister Sin – True Sound of the Underground (2010, Victory Records)

1. “Sound of the Underground” … 3:33
2. “Outrage” … 3:26
3. “Better Than Them” … 3:32
4. “24/7” … 3:59
5. “Heading For Hell” … 3:41
6. “I Stand Alone” … 4:09
7. “Built To Last” … 3:25
8. “The Devil I Know” … 3:26
9. “Times Aren’t A-Changing” … 2:55
10. “Nailbiter” … 3:32
11. “Beat Em Down” … 3:30

Band:
Liv – Vocals
Jimmy – Guitar
Benton – Bass
Dave – Drums

Producer: Henrik Edenhed

Despite this being their third release, Sister Sin is a band that was totally under the radar to me until about a few weeks ago. There was thread on a message board that I frequent titled ‘Sister Sin’ but for days I didn’t click on it. Just going by the name, I figured it was some melodic power metal band or maybe even something heavier. A few days later, I happened to see the CD in FYE for $9.99 and the sticker on the cellophane said “true street metal for fans of Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Scorpions & Accept!”

I still wasn’t sure if it was worth the money and checked out the thread as soon as I got home and the Myspace link that was inside and absolutely loved the song “Outrage”. I listened to most of this album on their Myspace page and some more positive feedback on this band convinced me to pick it up.

I’m really glad I did. Sister Sin is like the slutty metal sister of Halestorm in a way. Liv’s vocals are powerful, not quite on the level of Halestorm’s Lzzy but very close. Both of these bands feature a strong female rock vocalist and have hooky modern hard rock sounds but while Halestorm has more of a post-grunge influence (and a bit of “Kelly Clarkson rock” on a few tracks), Sister Sin revels in pure old school sleaze & heavy metal and why not? They’re Swedish! It’s practically a legal requirement for any hard rock act from Sweden to pay homage to the ’80s glam and sleaze acts.

Don’t get me wrong though, Sister Sin isn’t a retro band but their idols are obvious. While the Motley influence is there, they don’t necessarily sound like Priest, Scorpions and Accept but I definitely agree this band is for fans of type of music. However, there is an Accept connection after all– Udo Dirkschneider wrote the lyrics to “24/7”.

As much as I love supporting the veteran acts, it’s great and refreshing to hear new bands coming up with their own twists on hard rock & heavy metal. I wasn’t even sure if I was gonna enjoy Sister Sin just because I usually don’t care for female vocalists but True Sound of the Underground is yet another great release in 2010 and has been a featured album in my car and on my computer since I bought it. It’s hard, heavy, fast and it isn’t alternative. What more could you ask for?

Highlights: “Sound of the Underground”, “Outrage”, “Better Than Them”, “24/7”, “I Stand Alone”, “Nailbiter”

www.sistersin.com
www.myspace.com/sisterssin

Posted on July 16, 2010, in Sister Sin and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like them a lot too. Got into them on the first EP. I need to give the new album a few more spins to be sure how it compares with the previous album.

  2. perfect voice. catchy songs. like it much.

  3. I’m still Sister Sin-less. I guess I have to get on the Metal ball! 😉

    Stone

Leave a Reply

