VINCE NEIL – Tattoos & Tequila

Vince Neil – Tattoos & Tequila (2010, Eleven Seven Music)

1. “Tattoos & Tequila” … 3:44
2. “He’s a Whore” … 2:49
3. “AC/DC” … 4:08
4. “Nobody’s Fault” … 4:44
5. “Another Bad Day” … 4:07
6. “No Feelings” … 2:50
7. “Long Cool Woman” … 3:27
8. “Another Piece of Meat” … 3:08
9. “Who’ll Stop the Rain” … 2:51
10. “Viva Las Vegas” … 2:54
11. “The Bitch Is Back” … 3:45

Vince Neil – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals
Jeff Blando – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Dana Strum – Bass
Zoltan Chaney – Drums

Additional Musicians:
Marti Frederiksen – Bass, Drums, Keyboards, Percussion, Backing Vocals
Brad Gillis – Guitar
Jack Blades – Backing Vocals
Anthony Focx – Drums
Will Evankovich – Guitar
Christian Matthew Cullen – Keyboards
Mollie Solow – Backing Vocals

Producer: Jack Blades &Vince Neil, Marti Frederiksen (Tracks 1 and 5)

When I first heard about this album, I wasn’t all that excited about it but I figured I would probably pick it up just because I’m such a big Crue fan. Then I found out this album was mostly a collection of cover songs with only two original songs. I decided against picking it up but I read a few positive reviews for it and noticed Best Buy’s website had the album on sale for $7.99 with free shipping. I ended up ordering this along with Ozzy’s Scream album (it had the same deal). Both albums arrived in the mail on Monday, 6/21 — a full day before they hit the street! is quickly becoming one of the top stopping places for me when it comes to new music from established acts.

Vince Neil sounds as good as ever (no jokes, please) and he’s backed by a number of notable musicians. Night Ranger’s Brad Gillis & Jack Blades lend a hand with Jack Blades going as far as producing all of the cover songs. Then there’s Beautiful Creatures’ Anthony Focx making a guest appearance. Slaughter’s Dana Strum and Jeff Blando help make up the Vince Neil band in 2010 alongside newcomer Zoltan Chaney on drums. Marti Frederiksen (who co-wrote the entire Saints of Los Angeles album from Motley Crue) plays a few instruments and also produced/wrote the two new tracks.

I think the song choices here were great. Vince said he wanted to cover bands he was a fan of and that had influenced him and that’s great. He’s lent his voice to so many low-budget tribute albums over the years, it’s nice to know he’s not just collecting a paycheck this time. It’s also cool this was released on Eleven Seven (where Nikki Sixx is a head honcho at the label) and Vince didn’t have to put this out on a no-name label.

These covers are inspired. They’ve all been given a slight makeover and a sleazy hard rock edge. Some of his cover choices are surprising, here’s the full list: Cheap Trick, Sweet, Aerosmith, Sex Pistols, The Hollies, Scorpions, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Elvis Presley and Elton John. I’m particularly impressed by the versions of The Hollies’ “Long Cool Woman” and CCR’s “Who’ll Stop The Rain”. Vince sound really good singing these old ’70s hard rockers. His take on Aerosmith’s “Nobody’s Fault” and Elvis’ “Viva Las Vegas” are pretty rockin’ too. I was particularly interested in how “Viva Las Vegas” would sound and I’m glad it was given a hard rock makeover and he didn’t try to remain true to the song’s lounge act roots. Even the two new songs “Tattoos & Tequila” and “Another Bad Day” (which are obvious attempts at getting modern rock radio play) are growing on me.

Vince really sounds like he was having fun with these songs and why not? Like Def Leppard’s Yeah! covers album, this is a good time rock ‘n’ roll album for the summer and it was recorded for no other purpose than having fun. Fun seems to be the Vince Neil way. Though he has somewhat of a scroungy biker image when hanging out in Motley Crue, his solo style appears to be that of a hard rock Jimmy Buffett and he even has an ad in the CD booklet for his own line of tequila! Look out, Sammy Hagar!

Rock ‘n’ roll for the sake of rock ‘n’ roll. Recommended.

Highlights: “Tattoos & Tequila”, “He’s A Whore”, “Nobody’s Fault”, “Long Cool Woman”, “Who’ll Stop The Rain”, “Viva Las Vegas”

Posted on June 22, 2010, in Vince Neil and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Isn’t this a fun album! I really cannot get enough of it… you said it perfectly above, I need say no more. 🙂


    • I just read review earlier today totally trashing this album, saying it was worthless and Vince put no effort into it other than to plug his other products. What’s that guy smoking? I think he just has an ax to grind with Vince and/or Motley.

      • metalodyssey

        It’s a sad reality, that many times people let the extreme “bias” side take over their opinions and writing. It’s worse when the excessive “bias” is negative. This Vince Neil album is super! I will always think of it as a “Summertime Album” now… due to the timing of it’s release and it’s feel-good vibe.

        Maybe that dude’s review you read, well, maybe that dude is a Classic Disco fan anyways.


  2. You can’t wrong for $8! Rock on Vince.

    • Yep. I’m surprised — I went into Best Buy today and the album actually has a few spots in their New Releases section.

      • I grabbed this one at Best Buy as well. Something to note. Best Buy sells most new releases for $7.99 in their first week of release. I wouldn’t have picked this one up either but for 7.99 how could I resist.

  1. Pingback: OZZY OSBOURNE – Scream « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: