KING KOBRA – Thrill of a Lifetime

King Kobra – Thrill Of A Lifetime [Limited Mini LP Edition] (2008, Caroline Records)
Original Release: 1986, Capitol Records

1. “Second Time Around” … 4:09
2. “Dream On” … 4:29
3. “Feel The Heat” … 3:58
4. “Thrill Of A Lifetime” … 4:12
5. “Only The Strong Will Survive” … 4:00
6. “Iron Eagle (Never Say Die)” … 3:33
7. “Home Street Home” … 4:20
8. “Overnight Sensation” …  4:19
9. “Raise Your Hands To Rock” … 3:47
10. “Party Animal” … 3:58

Mark Free – Lead Vocals
David Micheal Philips – Guitar, Synthesizers, Backing Vocals
Mick Sweda – Guitar, Synthesizers, Backing Vocals
Johnny Rod – Bass, Backing Vocals
Carmine Appice – Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals

Producer: Carmine Appice, Duane Hitchings and Spencer Proffer

Whoa, whoa, whoa! What happened to the band that gave us hard rockin’ guilty pleasures like “Ready to Strike” and “Hunger”? For the most part, they seem to have disappeared. Not that Ready to Strike is a heavy metal classic. It’s pure ’80s pop metal cheese but still a very good debut, in my opinion. Thrill Of A Lifetime lacks the bite and venom of the debut. It’s synth-heavy AOR/melodic rock pop that signals where Mark “Marcie” Free’s heart really was. This was Mark’s last album with the band, he would go on to form AOR outfits Signal in 19891 and Unruly Child in 1992.

“Dream On” (no, not the Aerosmith song) is by far the album’s best song and would have been better served if it was given a harder edge. The rest, I’m sad to say is fairly generic ’80s AOR music. There’s more keyboards than guitars on this album it seems! UGH!

But wait! That’s not at all! There’s rapping. Yes, rapping. “Home Street Home” is rap rock. I’m assuming this was done to cash in on the success of the Run DMC/Aerosmith collaboration on “Walk This Way” (which was released the same year this album was). So yeah, if you’ve ever wanted to hear Mark Free rapping about living on the streets, this is an essential album for you.

For the rest of us? Hardcore AOR fans may find a few worthy tunes but anyone who really liked the hard rock direction of Ready to Strike will probably be disappointed by this venom-less effort. How can a song called “Party Animal” come off sounding so limp? At least the band was able to gain some credibility back with King Kobra III.

Familiar with this album for years, I finally bought a copy just to fill a hole in my collection. Pretty interesting edition as my version is a mini-LP. It was listed as such when I ordered it but I thought maybe that meant the insert was an exact replica of how the vinyl looked or whatever. Not so. The album comes in a cardboard sleeve that is bigger than your standard jewel case and inside that sleeve is another sleeve featuring a photo of the band standing on roller coaster tracks on the front and all the lyrics and credits on the back. An exact replica of the original LP release, I imagine.

Pretty cool issue but I’m surprised to see this done for such a cult band. You’d think it’d be a much cooler and popular idea for more successful acts. Sadly, they didn’t go all out and make the CD look like the actual vinyl record. How could they miss that step? I’ve seen that done before and it always looks cool.

Highlights: “Second Time Around”, “Dream On”, “Raise Your Hands To Rock”


Posted on May 21, 2010, in King Kobra and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Carmine Appice was asked in an interview a few years after this about the style change. He said they had gone to the label reps with their song ideas and were told that there wasn’t a radio hit in there. So they had to change about 3/4 of what they had. Which is why it’s more of an AOR album. Iron Eagle got some airplay because it was on that movie soundtrack. I like the last three songs on this one. KK3 is like a mixture of leftovers and no Mark Free so I might actually prefer Thrill of a lifetime. Ready to strike was easily their best though.

  2. I never bought this album. I remember that the album cover artwork looked so un-metal that I was sure it wouldn’t be a good album.

    Three of the song titles are reminiscent of more successful songs with the same titles by other bands (“Dream On” by Aerosmith (as you mentioned) and “Home Sweet Home” and “Raise Your Hands To Rock” both by Motley Crue (on their “Theater Of Pain” album which was released a year before this was)).

    Johnny Rod played bass for W.A.S.P. on their “Headless Children” album and Carmine Appice’s brother Vinny played drums for the recently departed Dio.
    And I believe Mick Sweda became the guitarist for the Bulletboys.

  3. metalodyssey

    All of this chatting is now making me want to “revisit” this album. Gee Metal whiz. (:


  4. I used to own this album, the first album and ‘King Kobra III’ all on vinyl and all I got rid of, I regret it now since the 1st and 2nd album are good, but this album was terrible and I hated it when it was first released. I am not sure what I would think of it now since I have not listened to this album in years.

  5. I remember buying this when it came out. I was so disappointed in it that I took it back the next day and talked the guy behind the counter into letting me swap it.
    Words cannot describe how bad “Home Street Home” is, the only thing you could compare it to is the awful version of “Back in Black” by Black & White.
    Carmine can blame this on the label but I think the band went willingly. They saw the success that other pop/metal bands were having so why not them. Add in the Top Gun tie-in and KK probably thought they were on their way.
    Shame because I really liked their first CD.
    Misfit, Hollywood Trash is just a collection of demo’s and stuff. Interesting it features a couple of different singers.

    • Thanks for the comments, Scott! I think you meant to say Iron Eagle, instead of Top Gun, either way it’s a pretty generic song! If they had stayed the course and done a logical follow up to Ready to Strike, they may have come out okay.

  1. Pingback: KING KOBRA – Thrill of a Lifetime - Love Parade

  2. Pingback: King Kobra – King Kobra « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: