OVERKILL – Ironbound

Overkill – Ironbound (2010, E1 Music)

1. “The Green and Black” … 8:14
2. “Ironbound” … 6:35
3. “Bring Me the Night” … 4:18
4. “The Goal Is Your Soul” … 6:43
5. “Give a Little” … 4:44
6. “Endless War” … 5:43
7. “The Head and Heart” … 5:13
8. “In Vain” … 5:15
9. “Killing for a Living” … 6:16
10. “The SRC” … 5:03

Band:
Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth – Vocals
Dave Linsk – Guitar
Derek Tailer – Guitar
DD Verni – Bass
Ron Lipnicki – Drums

Producer: Overkill

I don’t know whether something went wrong with mixing, mastering or maybe just during the album’s pressing but a buzz has built up online over many people hearing static throughout the songs. I held off on getting the album because of this problem yet other people say their copies are fine, so I eventually took a gamble and ended up buying it. I put it in my computer and it played fine. The next day, I put it in my car stereo and that’s when the static pops up. I check the disc and there’s tons of scratches on it. The static ranges from small crackles you might hear on a distant radio station to full-blown fuzz that totally dominates depending on the track you’re listening to. So then I get home and pop it in my computer again and it plays perfectly. My copy of Metallica’s Death Magnetic had a similar issue (with an entirely different car). What is going on ?!?

This is pretty annoying and I think there is no excuse, given technology these days, that an album is defective like this. Whether this problem began in the studio or at the manufacturing plant, someone is getting paid to catch mistakes like these and they obviously weren’t doing their job on this occasion. Luckily, it just so happens I listen to most of my music on my computer but it is still nice to have options, especially when the album is brand new and I want to listen to it whenever I can.

Despite owning this album since a few weeks or so after it was released and giving it a few spins, I couldn’t bring myself to review it. In my younger years, I was a bit more open and interested in thrash (even then I basically limited myself to the more accessible bands like MetallicaMegadeth and Anthrax) and it’s only in the last year or so that I’ve slowly been dipping my toes into thrashy waters once again with the likes of Overkill, Testament and Evile. Therefore, I don’t really consider myself educated enough in the genre to give a fully formed opinion on albums and bands I’m not already familiar with. Oh well, let’s try it anyway…

Basically, to my ears, this is pure old school thrash and that’s the way I like it! “The Green and Black” and ‘Ironbound” (my favorite song off this album — great middle part) especially bring to mind ’80s thrash and the first four songs in particular are all very good. I don’t know how this compares to the rest of the band’s catalog but as a first-time listener, I am very satisfied and will be seeking out more Overkill albums.

Also, I love Ellsworth’s voice. He’s like a really ticked off and rougher sounding Bon Scott and all of this comesafter having had a stroke! Just amazing.

Highlights: “The Green and Black”, “Ironbound”, “Bring Me the Night”, “The Goal Is Your Soul”, “The Head and Heart”

www.wreckingcrew.com
www.myspace.com/overkill

Posted on May 11, 2010, in Overkill and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. metalodyssey

    I bought “Ironbound” on it’s release date, at my local f.y.e., went to my car all psyched out, slid the disc into the car stereo and then… STATIC and FUZZ! I only drove a block away, so I went back to f.y.e. to return the copy of “Ironbound” for a new one. The dude working there is cool, he gave me my new copy and off I went. The same scenario happened again!! Only this time, I never left the parking lot… so I went back into f.y.e. and the same cool dude played “both” of my returned discs on the store stereo. SAME RESULT!

    I took the cool dude’s advice… I waited two weeks to get my new copy of “Ironbound”, Why? It was a “new batch”! Sounds crazy, only true. You should really return that disc to the retailer and get a refund. The store manager at f.y.e. later told me, that she contacted E1 Music about the defects.

    What’s even crazier, is this was the “first” time in my Metal lovin’ life that I ever bought a CD that was defective too! Your story certainly collaborates with my story… it’s a shame that the quality control was thrown out the window on the “Ironbound” CD’s.

    Hey… you don’t have to be a “Thrash Metal Expert” to give a good review on Ironbound! Lousy music is just that… lousy, despite the genre. From reading your blog regularly, I am confident you would even “smell” a lousy Thrash Metal album if it was even near you!

    Cool note: Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth told me his “favorite” Overkill album is… “Horrorscope”. It definitely is one of my favorite Overkill albums… “Taking Over” and “Feel The Fire” are just “Classic” Overkill. “Necroshine” is UNREAL. I am a just an Overkill fan 4 life, Metal guilty as charged. Anyone would be extremely hard pressed to point out a “lame” Overkill album in their catalog… one doesn’t exist!

    BTW… I have “Ironbound” and “Sting In The Tail” battling it out right now for my “Heavy Metal Album of the Year”! (:

    Stone

    • Good to know (in a twisted way) there are others who had the same problem I did! I think it’s probably much too late to return it. I don’t even have the receipt anymore. It’s not a big deal at this point, I’ve listened to it enough on my computer and I’ve burned “Ironbound” (the song) to my iPod for the gym. So I’ve gotten my use out of it.

      Horrorscope will probably be the next Overkill album I get but I still have Under the Influence to get through.

Leave a Reply

