STEEVI JAIMZ – My Private Hell

Steevi Jaimz – My Private Hell (2009, SCS Records/Cargo Records)

1. “Amazing” … 3:17
2. “Don’t Say It’s Over” … 3:16
3. “Something Good Something Bad” … 4:09
4. “Still Crazy” … 3:37
5. “Little Sistah” … 3:52
6. “My Private Hell” … 3:23
7. “Kiss Of Death” … 3:22
8. “I Don’t Wanna Walk Away” … 5:07
9. “Dancin’ With Danger” … 2:58
10. “Kikk It Down” … 3:55

Musicians:
Steevi Jaimz – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals,
Chris Laney – Guitar, Bass, Drums, Backing Vocals
Anders Ringman – Guitar, Bass, Drums, Backing Vocals

Producer: Chris Laney & Anders Ringman

Steevi Jaimz was the original singer for the UK glam metal act Tigertailz and sang on their debut Young & Crazy. I’ve been aware of Tigertailz for about as long as I’ve been into the hair metal scene, yet I’ve never listened to them or any previous solo efforts from Jaimz. The buzz online was that My Private Hell was a really good glam metal album so I made it a mission of mine to investigate for myself and Steevi was kind enough to assist.

The truth is — this is a REALLY good glam metal album. Throw My Private Hell into an unsuspecting lap and you could pass this album off to them as a lost classic from the ’80s. The production is great and all the hallmarks of a quality glam release are here: big hooks, big choruses, big vocals and ANTHEMS. This album is basically one infectious anthem after another. The best of which is the opening track “Amazing”. I loved it the first time I heard it and it sets the bar really high for the rest of album.

The whole album is reminiscent of the best of KISS from ’80s and also reminds me of Wig Wam. “Amazing” especially sounds like a KISS song from Animalize or Asylum, it easily sounds like a number Paul Stanley could be singing on. Many modern glam/hair albums tend to go either with a dirty sleazy sound or polished pop-metal. My Private Hell features elements of both but retains a sense of credibility (meaning NOT a “guilty” pleasure, I would have no problem cranking this album and letting others here it) and a rowdy party vibe.

Of course, as EVERY glam album should have — there’s a ballad. “I Don’t Wanna Walk Away” is just one of many bright spots on the album.

Chris Laney, Anders Ringman and of course Steevi Jaimz have delivered a thoroughly enjoyable modern glam metal classic that is nonstop fun. Once again, I discover an album a year too late — would’ve been yet another strong contender for my Top 10 of 2009 list, but as it stands, it’s still definitely one of 2009’s best. As I said before, I haven’t followed the career of Steevi Jaimz but My Private Hell has assured that I will from now on.

Highlights: “Amazing”, “Don’t Say It’s Over”, “Something Good Something Bad”, “Still Crazy”, “My Private Hell”, “I Don’t Wanna Walk Away”, “Kikk It Down”

http://www.steevijaimz.com/
http://www.myspace.com/steevijaimz

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Steevi Jaimz and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am a huge Tigertailz fan, but didn’t get around to hearing this yet. I interviewed him a couple of years ago.

    http://metalmark.blogspot.com/2008/01/interview-with-steevi-jaimz.html

  1. Pingback: Upcoming reviews « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

