Concerts!

I can’t remember if I mentioned it already but I bought my few concert tickets for 2010 a month or two back. I’ll be heading off to DTE Energy Music Theatre in Clarkston, Michigan (for my fourth time) to see Iron Maiden and their special guests Dream Theater on July 17th! Should be a great show. I like Dream Theater but the real draw for me is Iron Maiden. They’re one of those bands that’s been on my unwritten “must see live” list forever.

Well, I have some more good news to add to that. Today I found about THREE great acts coming to area. Here in downtown Lansing, there’s the week-long Common Ground Music Festival that takes place every summer. This will be the festival’s 11th year and in the past they’ve featured acts like Sammy Hagar, Snoop Dogg, Sheryl Crow. Last year, Stone Temple Pilots were one of the headlining acts.

Despite living in Lansing for nearly four years now, I’ve never gone before just because I couldn’t bring myself to spend $30 on a ticket to see only one act. I like Sammy, I like STP but thirty bucks was too much in my book to just see them (and them only) AND have to deal with the summer heat and huge crowd that gathers down by the Grand River. The Red Rocker is returning once again this year (I think this is his 4th performance at Common Ground) and appears to be sharing headliner status with none other than…

ALICE COOPER!

Alice is another one of my all-time favorite acts and just recently I had been complaining about how he never seems to get close enough to Lansing or Detroit (though he almost always pops up in Michigan somewhere during the summer every year). I noticed the newspaper this morning talking about Common Ground and they mentioned Alice will be performing July 16th and it will be full of his usual theatrics.

And the icing on the cake? Well, Tesla will also be performing on the 16th! Hagar performs on the 14th and I’d like to see him but Alice alone is enough to win out over Hagar and when you throw Tesla into the mix, it’s a no-brainer that this is the year I need to shell out $30. Heck, even if Tesla wasn’t performing, just seeing Alice is worth the money, in my opinion.

Common Ground still have a number of slots to fill and promises more artists to be announced but I can’t imagine anyone topping Alice Cooper! Tickets aren’t on sale yet. I think they go on sale next Wednesday and I’ll definitely be picking two tickets up then.

So what a great weekend I’ll have! Friday, July 17th: Alice Cooper & Tesla. Saturday, July 18th: Iron Maiden & Dream Theater!

BUT WAIT… There’s more!

I received confirmation earlier this afternoon that the Scorpions will be storming the stage of DTE on July 1st! Tickets go on sale this coming Saturday morning (gee, thanks for the heads up!). Ratt, Cinderella or Dokken are opening most of their shows but as luck would have it, the DTE show is one of the few where there is no opener. Oh well. I would’ve love to have seen Ratt but I won’t complain about an extended show from the Scorps! Scratch another all-time fave off the “must see” list. July is going to be a great month for me!

Do YOU have any concert plans for the summer?

Posted on April 21, 2010, in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. >Do YOU have any concert plans for the summer?

    Not this summer. But KISS may come to Tokyo this autumn.

    >I couldn’t bring myself to spend $30 on a ticket

    Concert tickets in America are only US$30?
    The average ticket here in Tokyo is ¥6500 – ¥10,000 (about US$70-110)…and there is usually only one band on the bill—no opening acts.

    • Well, the $30 is for just this festival, a one-day pass.

      Actual concert prices vary. It’s been a major issue the last few years with even some bands rebelling and speaking out against ticket prices and all the “fees” the promoters tack on. Summer tour packages are pretty good deal in the U.S. though. Three or four notable bands touring together for a base price of $30-45. Not bad.

      The two big promoters in the U.S. were Livenation and Ticketmaster. They both were promising lower prices and to cut out many fees and taxes but now they’ve merged so they can basically set the price at whatever they want again. Some of the bigger acts like U2 or Bon Jovi or whoever the current pop diva is still charge an arm and a leg though.

      I always buy two tickets to the shows (the second for my fiancee) and it usually costs $90-$110 total.

      • So, about $45-55 per ticket. Still much cheaper than here.

        BTW, what is minimum wage in America now?
        (When I was in high school it was about $3.35 per hour).

  2. These are the major oens I have coming up:

    Arsis (opening for the terrible cannibal corpse)
    Iron Maiden
    Concrete Blonde

  3. I’m definitely checking out 2Cents this year, touring with KoRn on the Jaegermeister Tour this spring/summer and with 5FDP later this year. Check out their new album “Dress to Kill” released on 4/20. http://www.2centsmusic.com

  4. Congrats to your Hard Rockin’ & Metal concerts you have nailed down!! YEAH!

    I just received in the mail today… my 2 tickets to go to the M3 Festival down in Columbia Maryland on June 19th!!! Scorpions… just like you stated… a must “live see”!!! Cinderella, Warrant, Trixter, Jetboy, Vince Neal and others are to be at M3!

    This one day will help alleviate my NEED for some live Rock ‘N’ Roll!

    I saw Charm City Devils and Pop Evil together at a small club about a month ago. I really like both bands… never listened to Pop Evil until that night too! Bought the Pop Evil CD the very next day.

    I have a big happy Metal grin on my face for you man… 2010 is gonna ROCK! (:

    Stone

    • Man, I pulled a corn dog… I spelled it wrong. It’s Vince Neil. Gee Metal whiz.

      Stone

    • I don’t really care for Pop Evil. I LOVE their name but to me, they’re just another generic modern hard rock band. Saw’em open for Priest & Whitesnake last year in Detroit.

      Charm City Devils are pretty good. I’d like to see them live.

      Congrats on M3! Looks like an awesome show!

  1. Pingback: Concerts! Part II « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

