AC/DC – The Razor’s Edge

AC/DC – The Razor’s Edge [Remastered] (2003, Columbia Records)
Original Release: 1990, Atco Records

1. “Thunderstruck” … 4:53
2. “Fire Your Guns” … 2:54
3. “Moneytalks” … 3:46
4. “The Razor’s Edge” … 4:23
5. “Mistress for Christmas” … 4:00
6. “Rock Your Heart Out” … 4:07
7. “Are You Ready” … 4:10
8. “Got You by the Balls” … 4:30
9. “Shot of Love” … 3:57
10. “Let’s Make It” … 3:32
11. “Goodbye & Good Riddance to Bad Luck” … 3:14
12. “If You Dare” … 3:18

Band:
Brian Johnson – Lead Vocals
Angus Young – Guitar
Malcolm Young – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Cliff Williams – Bass, Backing Vocals
Chris Slade – Drums, Percussion

Producer: Bruce Fairbairn

Even though The Razor’s Edge was a commercial success and critical success (for the most part), I STILL say it is one of AC/DC’s most underrated albums. People like it but they don’t like it enough as far as I’m concerned! It’s a near perfect album and for years it was my favorite AC/DC album until I recently re-listened to Highway to Hell.

This album is “ate up” (as they might say in the south) with anthems. “Thunderstruck”, “Fire Your Guns”, “Moneytalks”, “Are You Ready”… So catchy, such great choruses you’d think Mutt Lange was back working with his old buddies and in the producer’s chair! Not that Bruce Fairbairn is any slouch. He’s had his share of producer’s credit for really catchy rock as well (Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Poison). Anyway, these songs are just classic AC/DC that ranks up with any they’ve ever done, in my opinion.

The lyrics are as fun and naughty as ever. A special nod goes out to “Mistress for Christmas”, one of the best song titles ever and it really appealed to me as horny teenager.

By far, the best song of the bunch is “The Razor’s Edge”. If anyone wanted to try to argue that AC/DC is evil, they should cite this song as an example. It just sounds so evil and dark, I love it.

When I first bought this album, I got it on cassette. After the AC/DC remasters came out in 2003, I was tempted to buy it but I never pulled the trigger. I finally used a Best Buy gift card I had leftover from Christmas ’09 to give me a reason to finally pick this one up on CD.

Essential AC/DC.

Highlights: “Thunderstruck”, “Fire Your Guns”, “Moneytalks”, “The Razors Edge”, “Mistress for Christmas”, “Rock Your Heart Out”, “Are You Ready”, “Let’s Make It”

www.acdc.com
www.myspace.com/acdc

Posted on April 13, 2010, in AC/DC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >The Razor’s Edge…Essential AC/DC.

    That’s right!

  2. I had this cassette at first too. I remember liking the first side and thinking the second side was dull. My thoughts on it are still the same even though I have it on CD now too.

  3. Your right on the Metal money with the song “The Razor’s Edge”. “Moneytalks” is an unreal great AC/DC song from the Brian Johnson era. Great to see this album receive the limelight on Metal Excess!

Leave a Reply

