BLACK SABBATH – Born Again: Unmixed Demos & The Fallen

Black Sabbath – Born Again: Unmixed Demos & The Fallen (CDR bootleg)

1. “Hot Line” … 4:54
2. “Keep It Warm” … 5:44
3. “The Fallen” … 4:28
4. “Digital Bitch” … 3:44
5. “Stonehenge” … 4:54
6. “Trashed” … 3:47
7. “Zero the Hero” … 9:09
8. “Born Again” … 6:33
9. “Disturbing the Priest” … 5:38

Band:
Ian Gillan – Vocals
Tony Iommi – Guitar, Flute
Geezer Butler – Bass
Bill Ward – Drums, Percussion

Additional Musicians:
Geoff Nicholls – Keyboards

Producer: Robin Black and Black Sabbath

Surfacing in 2004, this release is as the title explicitly states, a bootleg of the unmixed demos from 1983’s classic Born Again album. Demos usually don’t appeal to me because they are what they are: demos. An unfinished product. Not so in this case. These unmixed numbers are actually mixed a bit better than the final product (which reportedly was the victim of the master tape’s exposure to humidity) and darn near close to being complete other than a few extra solos and altered lyrics.

In comparison to the officially released album, there are only two major differences with this bootleg: the absence of the short instrumental called “The Dark” and the inclusion of “The Fallen”. “The Fallen” fits in well with the rest of the album so I’m not sure why the band decided not to include it on the official release. Perhaps they were saving some of their ammo for the follow-up which never occurred?

Click here for my thoughts on the official Born Again release.

www.blacksabbath.com
www.heavenandhelllive.com
www.myspace.com/heavenandhelllive
www.gillan.com
www.myspace.com/iangillan

Posted on March 7, 2010, in Black Sabbath and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. NICE ONE! I never knew this “demo bootleg” even existed. I covet the Born Again album, I can’t truly express it in words… even though I have tried to in the past. It’s the total “feeling” I get when I listen to Born Again that mesmerizes me. Real Metal. Great one for me to search out for… thanks for posting it.

    Stone

  2. Sorry, but this album should have been good based on the line-up. It wasn’t though. Just sounds like messy songs from a some very tired guys.

  3. One of my favorite Black Sabbath albums and lucky I got to see this line when I was 13. I never heard the demo but I would love to score a copy.

  1. Pingback: Black Sabbath – Born Again [Deluxe Edition] « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

