WIG WAM – Non Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll

Wig Wam – Non Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll (2010, Frontiers Records)

1. “Do Ya Wanna Taste It” … 2:59
2. “Walls Come Down” … 3:59
3. “Wild One” … 3:25
4. “C’mon Everybody” … 4:17
5. “Man In the Moon” … 4:02
6. “Still I’m Burning” … 3:36
7. “All You Wanted” … 3:16
8. “Non Stop Rock And Roll” … 3:52
9. “From Here” … 3:18
10. “Rocket Through My Heart” … 3:30
11. “Chasing Rainbows” … 4:59
12. “Gotta Get It On” … 3:19

Age Sten Nilsen – Vocals
Trond Holter – Guitar
Bernt Jansen – Bass
Oystein Andersen – Drums

Norwegian glam rockers Wig Wam are back with their fourth album and it is an improvement over everything I have heard from them in the past. With previous releases, it all seemed like a bit too much of a throwback to the ’80s. The cheese factor was very high and the music was too shiny and glossy. I’m all for a band having fun and paying homage to the past, but it just wasn’t clicking for me.

I listened to this album with a cautious ear, expecting more of the same really and while I don’t proclaim to be an expert on Wig Wam, this album seems a bit more straight-forward hard rock. The band hasn’t forgotten how to write great hooks or catchy choruses and they still wear their influences on their sleeves but it all comes together on this albumĀ  in a way that isn’t so over-the-top and it pays off.

One thing about this band (and many bands from this part of the world) is that sometimes I have no clue what they are singing about. Not that I can’t understand the vocals, but lyrically everything is just kinda weird. Oh well. These feel good songs will have you singing along in no time without a care and that’s really all that matters.

There’s nothing wrong with the first four tracks, but after that is really when the album gets good. “Man In the Moon” is a nice ballad which I think would be a great live song. “Still I’m Burning” and “Chasing Rainbows” are my favorite songs from this album. I just can’t get that chorus from “Chasing Rainbows” out of my head!

Highlights: “Man In the Moon”, “Still I’m Burning”, “All You Wanted”, “Non Stop Rock And Roll”, “Rocket Through My Heart”, “Chasing Rainbows”


Posted on January 21, 2010, in Wig Wam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A very helpful review on a band I’m unfamiliar with. The album artwork and logo are definitely Old School… works for me visually.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: