JUDAS PRIEST – Screaming for Vengeance

Judas Priest – Screaming for Vengeance (1982, Columbia Records)

1. “The Hellion” … 0:41
2. “Electric Eye” … 3:39
3. “Riding on the Wind” … 3:07
4. “Bloodstone” … 3:51
5. “(Take These) Chains” … 3:07
6. “Pain and Pleasure” … 4:17
7. “Screaming for Vengeance” … 4:43
8. “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin'” … 5:09
9. “Fever” … 5:20
10. “Devil’s Child” … 4:48

Band:
Rob Halford – Vocals
K.K. Downing – Guitar
Glenn Tipton – Guitar
Ian Hill – Bass
Dave Holland – Drums

Producer: Tom Allom

This album was a great way to start my Judas Priest obsession. I bought it back in 1998 and I remember going up to Virginia to visit friends during winter break and making one of them play this in his car as we drove around town. Good times!

There were a number of tracks that I instantly fell in love with. The killer 1-2 combo of “The Hellion” and “Electric Eye” is legendary. “(Take These) Chains” I always thought was really good and pretty underrated. Priest is really good at writing haunting ballads. “Bloodstone” I think is another Priest gem. Of course, even years before this album I was familiar with “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin'” (freakin’ Burger King feature it in a commercial at one point!).

The album is a great return to classic material after the unimpressive Point of Entry, but it sees the band caught in the middle of transition from ’70s heavy metal act to ’80s commercial metal act. With their next few releases, the band streamlined and glossed up their sound and kept looking for a mainstream hit.

As good as this album is and as popular as it is (going double platinum, Priest’s best-selling album), it jump-started an era of the band that some people do not like. Personally, I love their slick synthesizer-heavy albums of the ’80s.

Highlights: “The Hellion”, “Electric Eye”, “Riding on the Wind”, “Bloodstone”, “(Take These) Chains”, “Screaming for Vengeance”, “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin'”

www.judaspriest.com
www.myspace.com/judaspriest

Posted on January 6, 2010, in Judas Priest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love that you bought this in 1998! It makes me feel so old! I bought this in early 1983 with my allowance money…..on cassette.

    British Steel in ’80 was the start of the more commercial side to Priest but you hit the nail on the head that Screaming was their best seller. I seem to remember more Screaming songs on the radio that British Steel for some reason. This is a strong, excellent record: ‘Electric Eye’ is a great live opener with ‘The Hellion’…..’Riding On The Wind’ is just awesome, saw Halford do it when he opened for Maiden years ago…..the title track is speed & power…..my favorite has always been ‘Devil’s Child’. Agree with you on ‘Bloodstone’ and I think that most people only hear ‘You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’ on the radio and they get sick of it.

    A classic Priest record…..now I have to listen to it later!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com/

  2. This album raised the Metal bar back upon it’s release. This is the album, (along with “The Number Of The Beast” by Maiden), that power blasted the NWOBHM into America’s psyche… in my Metal opinion. When I first heard this entire album back in ’82, I shook for days… and I never looked back.

  3. this was the era of priest that turned me off. after Point of Entry, I was done.

  1. Pingback: Scheepers – Scheepers « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

