DEEP PURPLE – Burn

Deep Purple – Burn [30th Anniversary Edition – Remastered] (2005, Warner Bros. Records/Rhino Records/Purple Records)
Original Release: 1974, Warner Bros. Records

1. “Burn” … 6:00
2. “Might Just Take Your Life” … 4:36
3. “Lay Down, Stay Down” …4:15
4. “Sail Away” … 5:48
5. “You Fool No One” … 4:47
6. “What’s Goin’ on Here” … 4:55
7. “Mistreated” … 7:25
8. “”A” 200″ … 3:51
BONUS TRACKS
9. “Coronarias Redig” [2004 Remix] … 5:30
10. “Burn” [2004 Remix] … 6:00
11. “Mistreated” [2004 Remix] … 7:28
12. “You Fool No One” [2004 Remix] … 4:57
13. “Sail Away” [2004 Remix] … 5:37

Band:
David Coverdale – Lead Vocals
Ritchie Blackmore – Guitar
Glenn Hughes – Bass, Lead Vocals
Ian Paice – Drums
Jon Lord – Keyboards

Producer: Deep Purple

Years ago, during a Columbia House or BMG Music binge, I ordered Deep Purple’s Perfect Strangers and then I never bothered with another Purple album. I wasn’t overly impressed by the album at the time and I’ve always had this hang-up on Deep Purple that they were “too 70s” and too heavy on keyboards and organs and that’s just not my style of rock.

Well, years later I decided to give the band a chance again by picking up Burn featuring the Deep Purple debut of two of my favorite rock vocalists – David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes. It didn’t hurt that I found this anniversary edition online, brand new, for only six bucks and some change.

Again, everything about this album screams 1970s. The keyboards, the album cover, the funky & bluesy bass lines. I should really hate this album but somehow, I like it. I don’t love it, but I like it a lot and its a real treat listening to Coverdale and Hughes share lead vocals. Coverdale didn’t play any instruments in the band, so I’ve always wondered how he felt about sharing vocals with a band member who is playing an instrument as well. Just seems like a weird deal to me, but it was the 70s after all!

This album began the end of Ritchie Blackmore’s involvement in the band he co-found as he hated the bluesy and funky direction Hughes and Coverdale were taking the group in. I will say this, this album features some GREAT performances by Coverdale. Just listen to “Mistreated”.

The remixes I guess are nice if you have a really good ear or sound system for that type of stuff. I don’t have either, but I appreciate the effort put into this package to make it something special. “Coronarias Redig” was a B-side and is a pretty cool funky jam. There’s a very comprehensive booklet as well that’s full pictures and talks about the history about the band during this time frame. I love it when reissues include retrospectives like that. It oughta be a law.

Highlights: “Burn”, “Might Just Take Your Life”, “Sail Away”, “You Fool No One”, “Mistreated”, “Coronarias Redig”

www.deeppurple.com
www.myspace.com/deeppurple

Posted on January 2, 2010, in Deep Purple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sounds to me like your in deep with Deep Purple now! Man, I just love the entire Deep Purple catalog. The Hammond organ and keyboards are truly a “70’s thing”… still this sound has been rather resilient over the years, um, decades. You just have to really try “Machine Head” by Deep Purple… it is my favorite Purple album.

    Welcome to the Deep Purple fan club. (:

    • Which line-up is your favorite?

      • Ian Gillan on vocals, Ritchie Blackmore on guitar, Roger Glover on bass, Ian Paice on drums and Jon Lord on organ & keys. (Essentially, the lineup from Perfect Strangers – for example). However, I have always revered Joe Lynn Turner, so the Slaves And Masters – Deep Purple album from 1990 is very cool with me… although it has a Rainbow feel to it, which I don’t mind at all. This Slaves And Masters album is the same lineup… only a different vocalist.

        In the end, I enjoy listening to all of the Deep Purple lineups… yet this is my all-time favorite lineup, (with Ian Gillian).

        Not to get long winded here… Coverdale, Hughes and Bolin were all excellent for Deep Purple, all unique, of course.

  2. Awesome! I didn’t think you would ever review “Burn”, wow!
    Being somewhat familiar with 1970’s music…..hmmm, I was overjoyed to see you do this one. Nice. This was always my favorite Purple album, by far. They recorded a very good LIVE album also, “Made in Japan”, which is well worth a listen one day. But back to “Burn”, David Coverdale was outstanding on this album, and “Mistreated”, “Burn”, “Might Just Take Your Life” and “Sail Away” are all dynamite tracks for sure.

    • Well, enjoy it while you can! I’ve now reviewed the two Deep Purple albums I own. 😛

      @metalodyssey — I’m a Joe Lynn Turner fan myself. Slaves And Masters can be picked up online pretty cheap. Worth the $6? 🙂

      • “Slaves And Masters” is worth the $6. It is an album that came out in 1990, when supposedly Heavy Metal was “no longer in vogue”… therefore, this album did not get the mainstream recognition it deserved. Definitely buy it and play it loud… it should be right up your Metal alley based on what you describe as your likes.

      • Did you ever grab a copy of “Slaves And Master”? If so… what do you think?

      • Not yet. I still plan to do so. Maybe I’ll order it next week.

Leave a Reply

