The Best Albums of the 2000s

Welcome to 2010!

I’m going to start the year off with yet another list except I won’t be limiting myself to “Top 10” or “Top 20” or whatever. I’ll be going chronologically, year by year (I didn’t put the albums in any specific order though) and if I thought it was a really good album, I’ll list it regardless of whether one year has four albums listed and another year only has two.

Looking back, the whole decade was pretty good for this rock/metal fan. The scene suffered greatly during the ’90s, but by 2000, the genre was turning the corner and I think most people had grown tired of depressed drug addicts and angry no-talent white rappers playing rock music. The legends were laying low during the ’90s and the next decade was made up of many comebacks, but that’s not to discount many newer acts who stepped up and played a vital role in rock ‘n’ roll.

2000
Marvelous 3 – ReadySexGo
Halford – Resurrection
Bon Jovi – Crush
Cold – 13 Ways to Bleed on Stage
The Union Underground – …An Education in Rebellion
Alice Cooper – Brutal Planet

2001
Puddle of Mudd – Come Clean
Megadeth – The World Needs a Hero
Alice Cooper – Dragontown
Lit – Atomic

2002
Dio – Killing the Dragon
Butch Walker – Left of Self-Centered
Bon Jovi – Bounce
Sentenced – The Cold White Light
L.A. Guns – Waking the Dead

2003
Anthrax – We’ve Come For You All
Alice Cooper – The Eyes of Alice Cooper
Dream Evil – Evilized

2004
Scorpions – Unbreakable
Megadeth – The System Has Failed
Tesla – Into the Now
Dream Evil – The Book of Heavy Metal
Brides of Destruction – Here Come the Brides

2005
Judas Priest – Angel of Retribution
Alice Cooper – Dirty Diamonds

2006
Edguy – Rocket Ride
Paul Stanley – Live to Win

2007
Avenged Sevenfold – Avenged Sevenfold
Sebastian Bach – Angel Down
Scorpions – Humanity: Hour I

2008
Guns N’ Roses – Chinese Democracy
Edguy – Tinnitus Sanctus
Whitesnake – Good to Be Bad

2009
KISS – Sonic Boom
Steel Panther – Feel the Steel

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Year End Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Nice to see Alice Cooper repeated throughout your list… he is beyond legend. I like that Paul Stanley album Live To Win… John 5 appears on it, making it meatier. Funny thing is, I feel Paul Stanley sounds a ton better vocally on Sonic Boom than he does on Live To Win. (Maybe it’s just me).

    • I don’t think Paul necessarily sounds better just more energetic. LIVE TO WIN was a modern rock/pop effort that didn’t require so many “YEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAHs”.

      I was surprised Alice kept popping up, but he has been incredibly consistent this decade. The only real letdown was ALONG CAME A SPIDER.

  2. I agree about Alice Cooper! The man is a living legend, hope he keeps rolling. Like your blog here. Check out mine if you get a chance.
    happyheadbanger.blogspot.com
    don’t forget to vote on my reader’s poll…

  3. I love that you threw Lit on your list. Despite being a thrash-a-holic, that record is one my all-time guiltiest of pleasures.

Leave a Reply

