Albums I Missed in 2009

As in 2008, there were a number of albums released this year that I didn’t get around buying. Money may come from trees but it surely doesn’t grow on them! Some of these albums I’ve been aware of for awhile, others I just recently found out about. Oh well, here’s some 2009 releases I plan on picking up sometime in the near future…

3 Inches of Blood – Here Waits Thy Doom: They finally got rid of their “screamo” vocalist so now it’s all down to Cam Pipes’ shrill pipes. I’ve never had a problem with the music, just the second vocalist. I’ll probably get this one pretty soon because what I’m hearing online is great.

House of Lords – Cartesian Dreams: I had been waffling on this one for quite some time, then I thought I had finally decided to not buy it due to some wimpy songs I heard but I’ve read some more reviews, previewed some more songs and now I desperately want it! I’m no stranger to House of Lords, but I’ve never bought an album by them.

Bulletboys – 10c Billionaire: I’ve actually ordered this album TWICE this year (once from Amazon and once from CD Universe) and both times the order was delayed without notice and in the case of CD Universe they went as far as to delete the listing! I’ve heard cheers and I’ve heard jeers for this album, but I like the two or three songs I’ve heard. I don’t expect to be blown away, but I suspect it’ll be decent. I guess I’ll have to order directly from Chavis Records though.

Grave Digger – Ballads of a Hangman: I’m not a heavy listener of power metal and I’ve been familiar with this band’s existence for quite some time by I’ve never really been intrigued by the few songs I’ve heard from them. For some reason though, the samples from this album are really clicking with me.

Ravage – End of Tomorrow: I’ve never even heard of this band until today, but I was reading a review over at No Life ’til Metal and checked out their music online — sounds like good retro-thrash to me!

Saint – Hell Blade: Another album I plan on picking up thanks to Scott’s review at NLTM. Not familiar with them at all, but if the new stuff is sounding this good, I wonder how good their earlier works are?

Dirty Penny – Young & Reckless: From all I’ve heard, Dirty Penny is one of modern sleaze rock’s best bands. This album keeps popping on “best of ’09” lists, so it’s time I finally sample them in full.

Mastodon – Crack the Skye: I’ve had zero interest in this band, but the buzz for this album has been so huge I was intrigued and listened to a few songs online. Not bad. Not a top priority, but I think I may owe it to myself to give this one a try.

Voices of Rock 2 – High and Mighty: I have heard nothing from this album but I do know ex-Black Sabbath singer Tony Martin is on it. That’s all I need to know.

W.E.T – W.E.T.: Slick melodic rock isn’t my favorite type of rock, but I’ve been a big fan of Jeff Scott Soto’s vocals for a long time and the reviews for this album are too positive to ignore.

Hot Leg – Red Light Fever: Crazy high import prices have kept me away from this release, which is Justin Hawkins’ first offering since leaving The Darkness. Seems to be more of a continuation of The Darkness than Stone Gods (aka – the rest of the guys from The Darkness) are. Prices just need to drop a little on this one though!

I could go on and on and on but these are some of the more notable 2009 releases I’ve yet to obtain. In 2010, I’ll hopefully be reviewing them on the blog!

Posted on December 31, 2009, in Year End Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really put the new Ravage and 3 Inches Of Blood albums in the same Metal class… very Old School/retro sound. Your not going to get pristine production from these two albums, instead it’s blue collar and semi-raw… just the way I like it. Hopefully, you will be a Ravage believer, this band deserves any and all the attention. (Then again, it’s just my Metal opinion too). Great lists… Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

