Most Disappointing Albums of 2009

Chickenfoot – Chickenfoot

I’m surprised this album is showing up on so many “best of 2009” lists because upon its release, I didn’t see a lot of glowing reviews. In some ways, this album is exactly what I expected — a competent yet lifeless release. Not that anyone believed him, but Sammy did the band no favors by claiming Chickenfoot was creating music as good as or better than Van Halen and Led Zeppelin. Perhaps he was referring to Van Halen III. Because, yeah, I’ll give him that — this album is better than Van Halen III. These guys are are professionals and rock legends and I think its great the album has gone gold, but it just didn’t gel for me. I didn’t hear any magic or chemistry. I’m thinking maybe Satriani is the problem and that the band needed someone who had a more loose, rock ‘n’ roll style.

Bon Jovi – The Circle

Okay, so I guess I shouldn’t have been disappointed because the last two Bon Jovi albums have been really lame, but I always hold out hope for these guys considering they’ve one of my favorite bands of all time. The fact that Jon was touting The Circle as a “big rock record” and a return to form really got my hopes up. In one interview, he even likened the album to the band’s ’80s stuff. Um, okay, Jon, what are you listening to because you definitely weren’t spinning New Jersey or Slippery When Wet when trying to get inspired for The Circle. You’ve lost it, man. You can’t write a catchy hard rock stadium anthem to save your life, can you? Richie’s lost it too and I’m starting to think so has Desmond Child.

Tim Ripper Owens – Play My Game

I debated whether to consider this “disappointing” or not but what the heck — it isn’t bad, but it isn’t what I hoped for either. Considering the talent involved, this should’ve been much better and in the long run, there just weren’t many memorable songs (trying to sound too modern) and I don’t think Owens’ voice was properly utilized.

The Last Vegas – Whatever Gets You Off

The Last Vegas is a shining example of the future of rock ‘n’ roll being strong but this release was just plain lazy with six of the eleven songs released just one year prior on the band’s self-released album. The songs are good and I can understand the band wanting to show off some of their best self-released work once getting signed to a label but did they really need to eat up half the album to do that?

Heaven and Hell – The Devil You Know

How could this be? The Devil You Know landed at #9 on my Top 10 of 2009 list! Yes, but given that this is the same band that released Heaven and Hell, Mob Rules and Dehumanizer as Black Sabbath, I couldn’t help but think this album was way too slow and not heavy enough. It’s a respectable effort but doesn’t come close to previous works.

Posted on December 29, 2009, in Year End Awards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am with you on Heaven and Hell and Tim Owens. Neither was bad, but I was certainly expecting more from both.

  2. Yeah, as much as it pains me to say it, I agree with you on THE DEVIL YOU KNOW. I never did even buy this one . . . after sampling all the songs online it didn’t sound like something I would listen to more than once. Slow, prodding . . . the ingredients were there, but it just felt like . . . I don’t know . . . like self-parody, almost. IMO, of course. Very disappointing. 😦

    J.N.

  3. I am the lonewolf in this opinion but I love the newest Black Sabbath album and if this turns out to be their final album , IMO they ended on a hig note.

  4. I can’t say I agree with Heaven & Hell but everyone is entitled to their own opinion…..I had it in the Top 10.

    Chickenfoot was disappointing, so was Bon Jovi but I should have known better! Tim Owens was good, not great, an average record. Haven’t heard The Last Vegas yet, some sites have it Top 5 and some have it as middle of the pack.

    My worst was Lita Ford bar none!

    My lists are up at Heavy Metal Addiction, check them out!

    Steve
    Heavy Metal Addiction
    http://heavymetaladdiction.com

Leave a Reply

