EVILE – Infected Nations

Evile – Infected Nations (2009, Earache Records)

1. “Infected Nation” … 5:33
2. “Now Demolition” … 5:46
3. “Nosophoros” … 5:29
4. “Genocide” … 7:42
5. “Plague To End All Plagues” … 5:55
6. “Devoid Of Thought” … 5:37
7. “Time No More” … 4:00
8. “Metamorphosis” … 7:40
9. “Hundred Wrathful Deities” … 11:41

Band:
Matt Drake – Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Ol Drake – Lead Guitar
Mike Alexander – Bass
Ben Carter – Drums

Producer: Russ Russell

I happened to breeze through review of this album online then a few days later and by chance, not even seeking it out, I came across Infected Nations at FYE for only $9.99 as part of a “young metal” display they had set up. Continuing my “more thrash” initiative, and remembering that this band was indeed labeled as “retro-thrash”, I quickly scanned it at one of their listener booths and really liked what I heard because I’m retro kind of guy. I mean right down to the album art (illustrated by veteran heavy metal album cover artist Michael Whelan) this band is old school!

The only problem? I didn’t hear any vocals! The entire album was sampled and none of those samples featured vocals. I wasn’t sure if maybe they were an instrumental band or what. I had decided I wasn’t going to get the album because too many new metal band like to employ the awful cookie monster voice and that stuff sucks. Luckily, there was a copy of Enter the Grave (their debut from 2007) so I scanned that and finally heard Matt Drake on vocals and he was fine. I almost picked up Enter the Grave instead, thinking it was better to start from the beginning, but it was a few bucks more and I just didn’t like the samples as well. Perhaps someday I’ll pick it up though.

I’ve seen a lot of debate lately over whether it’s good to have a “retro” sound or not. For some people, it’s a turn off. I don’t really seen a problem with having a “retro” sound as long as the music is good and the music here is good. I don’t follow the modern thrash scene, but as far as I’m concerned, the highest compliment you could give a young thrash band is to say they sound like an ’80s thrash band. And that’s exactly what Infected Nations sounds like. To my unrefined thrash ears, I can hear many similarities to Metallica (which isn’t surprising considering the band earned their stripes playing Metallica covers) with a lesser influence from Slayer (most notably in the vocals), but the sticker on the cover of the album compared the band to Slayer, Megadeth and Sepultura.

The Haddonsfield, England-based Evile is on their way to becoming one of the great modern heavy metal bands and if you don’t believe, check out the epic instrumental album closer “Hundred Wrathful Deities”!

Highlights: “Now Demolition”, “Nosophoros”, “Genocide”, “Plague to End All Plagues”, “Hundred Wrathful Deities”

evile.co.uk
www.myspace.com/evileuk

Posted on December 11, 2009, in Evile and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

