W.A.S.P. – The Last Command

W.A.S.P. – The Last Command [Remastered] (1997, Snapper Classics)
Original Release: 1985, Capitol Records

1. “Wild Child” … 5:12
2. “Ball Crusher” … 3:25
3. “Fistful of Diamonds” … 4:16
4. “Jack Action” … 4:17
5. “Widowmaker” … 5:20
6. “Blind in Texas” … (4:20
7. “Cries in the Night” … 3:41
8. “The Last Command” … 4:10
9. “Running Wild in the Streets” … 3:31
10. “Sex Drive” … 3:02
BONUS TRACKS
11. “Mississippi Queen” … 3:23
12. “Savage” … 3:33
13. “On Your Knees” (live) … 4:41
14. “Hellion” (live) … 5:47
15. “Sleeping (in the Fire)” (live) … 5:45
16. “Animal (F*ck Like a Beast)” (live) … 4:40
17. “I Wanna Be Somebody” (live) … 5:54

Band:
Blackie Lawless – Lead Vocals, Bass
Chris Holmes – Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar
Randy Piper – Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
Steve Riley – Drums, Backing Vocals

Producer: Spencer Proffer

I’ve been on a big W.A.S.P. kick thanks to the awesome Babylon, so I decided it was time to add another W.A.S.P. album to my collection and I picked the band’s sophomore effort. The Last Command was never a top priority for me because I’ve read it didn’t compare to the debut. I’m basically just filling holes in my W.A.S.P. collection while cautiously avoiding some of Blackie’s more criticized ’90s and later work. Then again, I’ll probably pick most of those up at some point just because I’m a big fan of Blackie’s voice and he’s never strayed too far from the proven W.A.S.P. sound.

So my response to those that say this album isn’t a good as the debut? You’re crazy. If anything, this album is better. From top to bottom, the album is strong. “Wild Child”, “Ball Crusher”, “Fistful of Diamonds” and “Jack Action” are all classic W.A.S.P. anthems as are “Blind in Texas” and “Sex Drive”. I really like “Cries in the Night” too, which sounds like maybe Blackie was going for a more mainstream glam sound. Blackie mentions in the liner notes that “Cries in the Night” was originally a different song, but changes were made at the request of Capitol. So there you go — Capitol wanted a mainstream glam sound. Odd though since it wasn’t released as a single from what I can tell.

When I first heard “Wild Child”, I think it was from the music video which I caught way back on VH1’s awful Rock Show hosted by that goof Cane. I HATED IT. I don’t know why, maybe I was letting the cheesy video speak for the song, but I just thought it sucked. 10 years later, I think it’s a great W.A.S.P. song. Yeah, the lyrics are pretty bad, but when Blackie sings them with such conviction and lust, how can you not like it?

The Last Command is essential W.A.S.P. and the 1997 remastered version is really cool… SEVEN bonus tracks! We get the really cool cover of Mountain’s signature song (Blackie has always done great covers), a pretty good B-side called “Savage” and then five live tracks recorded back in ’84. Quite a deal for the $7 or $8 I paid for this album.

Highlights: “Wild Child”, “Ball Crusher”, “Fistful of Diamonds”, “Jack Action”, “Blind in Texas”, “Cries in the Night”, “Sex Drive”, “Mississippi Queen”, “Savage”, “Sleeping (In the Fire)” (live)

www.waspnation.com
www.myspace.com/wasp

Posted on December 8, 2009, in W.A.S.P. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. One of their best. I remember buying it on cassette the week it came out in the fall of 1985.

  2. Indeed I am, but I also have a fine and large collection of metal albums all purchased for fairly chep prices back in the 80’s.

  3. The Last Command is unreal great W.A.S.P. Heavy Metal. I own every W.A.S.P. album… those 90’s W.A.S.P. albums should not disappoint you… especially Helldorado, Still Not Black Enough and The Crimson Idol. The Headless Children (1989) is unreal too. K.F.D. is a detour from what Blackie Lawless was/is known for… it is a very dark/extreme album. The W.A.S.P. Nation grows by the day.

  4. This album is great. Its a whole lot of fun, but also satisfyingly heavy and powerful at times. Interestingly I’ve never heard anyone say anything bad about it before (at least I don’t remember hearing anything negative about it). I thought it was one of those universally praised albums.

Leave a Reply

