AC/DC – For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)

AC/DC – For Those About to Rock (We Salute You) [Remastered] (1994, Atco Records)
Original Release: 1981, Atco Records

1. “For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)” … 5:44
2. “Put the Finger on You” … 3:26
3. “Let’s Get It Up” … 3:54
4. “Inject the Venom” … 3:31
5. “Snowballed” … 3:23
6. “Evil Walks” … 4:24
7. “C.O.D.” … 3:19
8. “Breaking the Rules” … 4:23
9. “Night of the Long Knives” … 3:26
10. “Spellbound” … 4:30

Band:
Brian Johnson – Lead Vocals
Angus Young – Lead Guitar
Malcolm Young – Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals
Cliff Williams – Bass, Backing Vocals
Phil Rudd – Drums, Percussion

Producer: Mutt Lange

I know the 2003 remastering is available at Walmart for $7 or $8, but besides having a digipak, I don’t really see what the difference would be from this 1994 remastering. I saved a few bucks at a used record store and picked this one up for $5!  I’ve had my eyes on this album for years. I’ve always thought the cover was very interesting as well as song titles like “Inject the Venom”, “Evil Walks” and “Night of the Long Knives”.

Though I burned myself out on AC/DC years ago, since the release of Black Ice I’m slowly coming around again and I’m interested in picking up their post-Back In Black offerings. Though I didn’t plan it this way, what better place to start than with this album, the follow up to Back In Black?

Though Back In Black will always and forever be viewed as AC/DC’s masterpiece, For Those About to Rock is more than up to the challenge of following that legendary release. This isn’t an album that stands in the shadow of the previous release, this is an album that casts its own shadow, in my opinion. I find it really funny not many critics at the time of this release agreed though. There are a few entertaining reviews floating around online (like the one from Rolling Stone) where this album is trashed as an uninspired effort. I just don’t see it that way at all!

It’s really hard for me to compare this album to Back In Black just because that album has lost all impact for me, but certainly the concert staple title track can compete with anything from that album. The rest doesn’t reach out and grab immediately, there’s a slower groove throughout the album, but it’s all still very satisfying. “I Put the Finger on You” is another one of my favorites from this album. Mutt Lange was back in the producer’s chair for this album (his last with the band) and it is not hard to imagine “I Put the Finger on You” or “Spellbound” as Def Leppard songs, with a few tweaks here and there.

Essential AC/DC and I’m glad I have some new (to me) AC/DC music to listen to!

Highlights: “For Those About to Rock We Salute You”, “Put the Finger on You”, “Let’s Get It Up”, “Inject the Venom”, “Evil Walks”, “Breaking the Rules”, “Spellbound”

www.acdc.com
www.myspace.com/acdc

Posted on November 15, 2009, in AC/DC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I agree, this album was a more than adequate follow up to BIB. I love this album. Believe it or not, the only AC/DC albums I own are BIB, FTATR, and Black Ice. I think I’ve listened to all of their CDs at one time or another, but was never inspired to buy them. That doesn’t mean I don’t think they are a great band. AC/DC is legendary.

  2. Lousy album. Back in black was weak, but this was the beginning of the end for AC/DC.

  3. Mainly. I like some of Flick of the switch, the new songs on Who made who and a few others hear and there, but yes mainly just into the Bon Scott material.

  4. The only Bon Scott-era AC/DC album I like is HIGHWAY TO HELL.

  5. I prefer the Bon Scott version of the band but I do feel that Brian Johnson is the only man who could have stepped in after Bon’s tragic death.

    IMO alot of Johnson era AC/DC albums are unfairly overlooked including this classic slab of metal, IMO not a bad song on the album.

    AC/DC with Brian Johnson have not damaged or harmed Bon Scott’s legacy at all.

Leave a Reply

