W.A.S.P. – Babylon

W.A.S.P. – Babylon (2009, Demolition Records – UK Import)

1. “Crazy” … 5:10
2. “Live To Die Another Day” … 4:41
3. “Babylon’s Burning” … 5:00
4. “Burn” … 4:50
5. “Into The Fire” … 5:54
6. “Thunder Red” … 4:20
7. “Seas Of Fire” … 4:34
8. “Godless Run” … 5:43
9. “Promised Land” … 3:13

Band:
Blackie Lawless – Lead Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards
Doug Blair – Lead Guitar
Mike Duda – Bass, Backing Vocals
Mike Dupke – Drums

Producer: Blackie Lawless

I haven’t listened to a new W.A.S.P. album since Dying for the World. The Neon God albums didn’t sound appealing since I’m not a big fan of concept albums and despite the best of intentions, I never got around to picking up Dominator (which never had a U.S. release).

The story of 2009 seems to be the scarce availability of albums released by veteran artists… From Blackie’s own lips this album has a U.S. distribution deal, but I’ll be darned if I can find it anywhere in town! Instead, I had to settle for ordering the UK import from Amazon.

Oh well, whatever trouble I went through to get this album was well worth it. The buzz around this album seems to be it is either one of W.A.S.P.’s best or one of their lamest. Well, I haven’t heard enough W.A.S.P. to say where this ranks in their catalog, but I’m loving Babylon and it’s a highlight album for 2009, IMO.

Blackie’s voice is still great. It’s just as powerful and mean sounding as ever and the music itself has the classic W.A.S.P. sound. If I didn’t know this was 2009, I’d fully believe this album was released in the ’80s. “Crazy” is by far my favorite track and it really sounds like something you might hear from the first three albums.

My biggest complaint is the album is too short at only nine tracks, I would’ve preferred one or two more. Of those nine, two are cover songs (Deep Purple’s “Burn” and Chuck Berry’s “Promised Land”) but I don’t really have a problem with that as some others do because W.A.S.P. frequently do covers and do it well and it’s no different this time around.

Blackie shows no sign of softening or slowing down and for that I applaud him!

Highlights: “Crazy”, “Babylon’s Burning”, “Burn”, “Into the Fire”, “Godless Run”

www.waspnation.com
www.myspace.com/wasp

Posted on November 14, 2009, in W.A.S.P. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

