BON JOVI – Keep the Faith

Bon Jovi – Keep the Faith (1992, Mercury Records)

1. “I Believe” … 5:58
2. “Keep the Faith” … 5:46
3. “I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead” … 4:43
4. “In These Arms” … 5:19
5. “Bed of Roses” … 6:34
6. “If I Was Your Mother” … 4:27
7. “Dry County” … 9:52
8. “Woman in Love” … 3:48
9. “Fear” … 3:06
10. “I Want You” … 5:46
11. “Blame it on the Love of Rock and Roll” … 4:24
12. “Little Bit of Soul” … 5:44

Band:
Jon Bon Jovi – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Guitar, Percussion
Richie Sambora – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Alec John Such – Bass, Backing Vocals
Tico Torres – Drums, Percussion
David Bryan – Keyboards, Backing Vocals

Producer: Bob “Let’s Not” Rock

Four years after the band peaked with New Jersey, here comes the slide into mediocrity (which would be fully explored in the 2000s). This album is a mixed bag (the first half is good, most of the rest is filler), but it signaled a somber, more mature sound that would be taken even further with These Days from 1995. In general, Keep the Faith shows the band’s decision to rock a little less and age into an adult contemporary rock act.

Filler starts popping up with “If I Was Your Mother”, but the excellent & epic “Dry County” (Bon Jovi going the Springsteen/Mellencamp route) and “I Want You” (a power ballad that would sound right at home on Slippery When Wet or New Jersey) and worth skipping too. Outside of those two songs, the second half of this album features some of my least favorite Bon Jovi songs.

The odd thing is, the album overall shows the band getting softer and slower, but “If I Was Your Mother” and “Fear” are two of the heaviest songs the band has ever done. Perhaps they were trying to compensate for the rest of the album?

Highlights: “I Believe”, “Keep the Faith”, “I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead”, “In These Arms”, “Bed of Roses”, “Dry County”, “I Want You”

www.bonjovi.com
www.myspace.com/bonjovi

Posted on October 15, 2009, in Bon Jovi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dry County is by far the best song on this album and among the best they ever performed.

  2. Yes, I think Bon Jovi did start to get softer with this album. I did enjoy it though for just three of the songs: Keep The Faith (because it had this beat that made me want to sing along and clap my hands), Bed of Roses (because it was just so romantic hearing Jon Bon Jovi sing that song), and I Want You (just because). Maybe they were just trying to reach out to more female audiences who were not all into hard rock stuff at the time?

Leave a Reply

