SAVATAGE – Power of the Night

Savatage – Power of the Night (1985, Atlantic Records)

1. “Power of the Night” … 5:12
2. “Unusual” … 4:23
3. “Warriors” … 4:00
4. “Necrophilia” … 3:35
5. “Washed Out” … 2:13
6. “Hard for Love” … 3:57
7. “Fountain of Youth” … 4:28
8. “Skull Session” … 3:18
9. “Stuck on You” … 3:06
10. “In the Dream” … 4:10

Jon Oliva – Vocals, Keyboards
Criss Oliva – Guitars
Keith Collins – Bass
Steve Wacholz – Drums

Producer: Max Norman

This was the band’s third release and it really signaled the changes to come over the band’s next two releases. I can definitely hear similarities here to what I believe is their best effort — 1987’s Hall of the Mountain King.

Also, “Hard for Love” is a fairly commercial effort, giving another taste of the future when the band would follow this release up the very next year with the mainstream hard rock sounds of Fight for the Rock. Not that I’m complaining though, it’s a darn catchy piece of almost hair metal. The rest of the album does not follow that format, it’s power metal through and through.

Though respected, this album generally doesn’t seem to rank amongst the best of the Savatage albums. I’m not sure why. There’s some filler here but “Power of the Night”, “”Warriors”, “Unusual” and “Necrophilia” are classic Savatage tracks.

Highlights: “Power of the Night”, “Unusual”, “Warriors”, “Necrophilia”, “Hard for Love”, “In the Dream”


Posted on October 8, 2009, in Savatage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: