MONSTER BALLADS

Various Artists – Monster Ballads (1999, Razor & Tie)

1. “Heaven” – Warrant … 3:58
2. “Something to Believe In” – Poison … 5:30
3. “High Enough” – Damn Yankees … 4:18
4. “Almost Paradise” – Mike Reno & Ann Wilson … 3:50
5. “Is This Love” – Whitesnake … 4:44
6. “To Be With You” – Mr. Big … 3:20
7. “Carrie” – Europe … 4:31
8. “Don’t Know What You Got (Till It’s Gone)” – Cinderella … 5:55
9. “More Than Words” – Extreme … 4:11
10. “Headed for a Heartbreak” – Winger … 5:14
11. “When I Look into Your Eyes” – Firehouse … 4:01
12. “Wind of Change” – Scorpions … 5:12
13. “I’ll Never Let You Go” – Steelheart … 5:06
14. “When I See You Smile” – Bad English … 4:18
15. “Don’t Close Your Eyes” – Kix … 4:18
16. “When I’m With You” – Sheriff … 3:54

I doubt this was the very first hair ballad compilation, but it was definitely the one that inspired tons of other compilations to come around in ’99 and ’00 (and it was the first one that I owned). I’ve never made it a secret that I’m a huge fan of ballads and this is a pretty excellent crop of songs. When coupled with VH1’s The Big ’80s Power Ballads disc, you’ve got an incredible selection of songs (with very little repeats) and either disc is a great introduction to the softer side of hair metal.

Yeah, there are tons of great deep tracks that aren’t present, but the idea of Monster Ballads is to showcase hit ballads and Razor & Tie really couldn’t have done much of a better job, even if there are a few headstratchers like “Almost Paradise” and “When I’m With You”. Nice ballads, but they don’t fit in with the rest of the bands.

This album was originally offered during thru Razor & Tie by calling their 1-800 number and ordering. It was a two disc set, but was quickly trimmed down to one disc and made available in retail stores.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Compilations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree with you here. This album’s definitely awesome and most likely inspired future compilations. I have this one and I still listen to it a lot…one of my favorite CDs!

Leave a Reply

