MEGADETH – Endgame

Megadeth – Endgame (2009, Roadrunner Records)

1. “Dialectic Chaos” … 2:26
2. “This Day We Fight!” … 3:27
3. “44 Minutes” … 4:37
4. “1,320” … 3:50
5. “Bite The Hand” … 4:01
6. “Bodies” … 3:34
7. “Endgame” … 5:57
8. “The Hardest Part of Letting Go… Sealed With a Kiss” … 4:42
9. “Head Crusher” … 3:26
10. “How The Story Ends” … 4:29
11. “The Right To Go Insane” .. 4:18

Band:
Dave Mustaine – Lead Vocals, Lead & Rhythm Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano
Chris Broderick – Lead & Rhythm Guitar, Acoustic Guitar
James Lomenzo – Bass
Shawn Drover – Drums, Percussion

Produced by: Andy Sneap and Dave Mustaine

Another Megadeth album, another line-up change! It’s pretty comical — “who’s going to play on this album,” but at least Dave always brings in top notch musicians. This time, its another new guitarist — Chris Broderick (Jag Panzer, Nevermore) has stepped in for the departing Glen Drover, who apparently was homesick and just wasn’t enjoying touring all that much.

My first impression of this album was that there’s really nothing that jumps out and grabs you. I thought there was some filler on United Abominations, but at least that album had the instant standouts “Play for Blood” and “Gears of War” (which had a “Symphony of Destruction” vibe).

To be honest, the very first song that eventually caught my attention was the opening track “Dialectic Chaos”… which is an instrumental! After that, “44 Minutes” began getting stuck in my head and I knew I had found my groove with this album.It’s a grower, for sure, but the more I listen to it, the more I’m enjoying it. I think it’s even better than United Abominations because melody seems to be employed better here, UA was a bit too thrashy for me at times.

I’ve seen many reviews going as far as to say this album is “great”. I wouldn’t go that far, but it is very good and one of the year’s best releases. I mean, how can you complain about Megadeth (well, besides the lame cover)? Mustaine has seemed to have found his proper place with the music — the last few records seem to emcompass all albums from Rust In Peace to Cryptic Writings. As long as Dave keeps makin’ ’em, I’ll keep buyin’ ’em.

Highlights: “Dialectic Chaos”, “44 Minutes”, “Bodies”, “Endgame”, “The Hardest Part of Letting Go… Sealed With a Kiss”, “Head Crusher”, “How The Story Ends”

www.megadeth.com
www.myspace.com/megadeth

Posted on September 19, 2009, in Megadeth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I didn’t buy this when it first came out…but I just got it.

    >My first impression of this album was that there’s really nothing that jumps out and grabs you… but the more I listen to it, the more I’m enjoying it.

    I had the same reaction. On first listen I wasn’t impressed…but it’s growing on me.

  1. Pingback: The Top 10 Albums of 2009 « Metal Excess

  2. Pingback: Megadeth – Thirteen « Metal Excess

Leave a Reply

