ARMORED SAINT – Raising Fear

Armored Saint – Raising Fear (1995, Metal Blade Records)
Original Release: 1987, Chrysalis Records

1. “Raising Fear” (3:50)
2. “Saturday Night Special” (4:23)
3. “Out on a Limb” (3:33)
4. “Isolation” (6:00)
5. “Chemical Euphoria” (4:45)
6. “Crisis of Life” (4:05)
7. “Frozen Will/Legacy” (6:00)
8. “Human Vulture” (5:26)
9. “Book of Blood” (4:41)
10. “Terror” (4:44)
11. “Underdogs” (4:18)

Band:
John Bush – Vocals
Dave Prichard – Guitars
Joey Vera – Bass
Gonzo Sandoval – Drums

Produced by: Chris Minto and Armored Saint

What a great album cover!

This was my first Armored Saint album and it was by accident because if I’m remembering correctly, I actually meant to pick up Symbol of Salvation. I had mixed up the titles, but my intent was the same– to pick up what was generally considered to be the “best” Armored Saint album.

I was disappointed when I got online at home and realized I had bought an album that All Music Guide only gave 2.5 stars to. You can only trust your own ears, but for a time, in the early 2000s, I trusted AMG more than I should have and I think their review influenced my opinion a lot on this album because I remember not liking this one for the longest time and giving it very little play outside of the few week or two of buying it.

It’s amazing how much you can enjoy something when you stop listening to others and go into things with an open mind (yes, this works for all walks of life) because this is some great American power metal! I still think Symbol of Salvation is their best release, but this album sits right at home next to it.

Supposedly there were some issues in the songwriting department for this album because Chrysalis wasn’t happy with what they were hearing (they wanted that all important “hit”) and they basically forced the band to record “Saturday Night Special” in addition to pretty much re-writing everything. Well, whatever writing/recording problems the band was going through, I still think they delivered in the end and I even like their cover of “Saturday Night Special”. Unfortunately, even after six-months of recording going into this album, the album was not a commercial success and Chrysalis dropped the band, but that’s okay.

Even in the face of Dave Prichard fighting a losing battle with leukemia, the band signed with Metal Blade Records and delivered their career best in 1991…

Highlights: “Raising Fear”, “Saturday Night Special”, “Out on a Limb”, “Frozen Will/Legacy”, “Book of Blood”, “Terror”

www.armoredsaint.com
www.myspace.com/armoredsaint1

Posted on September 16, 2009, in Armored Saint and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

