THIN LIZZY – Thunder and Lightning

Thin Lizzy – Thunder and Lightning (2001, Wounded Bird Records)
Original Release: 1983, PolyGram/Vertigo Records

1. “Thunder and Lightning” … 4:54
2. “This Is the One” … 4:03
3. “The Sun Goes Down” … 6:18
4. “The Holy War” … 5:11
5. “Cold Sweat” … 3:06
6. “Someday She Is Going to Hit Back” … 4:05
7. “Baby Please Don’t Go” … 5:08
8. “Bad Habits” … 4:04
9. “Heart Attack” … 3:39

Band:
Phil Lynott – Lead Vocals, Bass
Scott Gorham – Guitar
John Sykes – Guitar
Brian Downey – Drums
Darren Wharton – Keyboards, Backing Vocals

Produced by: Thin Lizzy and Chris Tsangarides

I’ve slowly been acquiring Thin Lizzy albums and this one was near the top of my list because I kept reading that it was their heaviest and had an “80s sound” to it. I don’t think any of the critics meant “80s sound” as a compliment, but terms like that attract me to albums, not repel me. And just take a look at that cover! That’s metal, baby!

At this point, I’m not expert of Thin Lizzy, but from everything I’ve heard from them, this is by and far my favorite release. What a note to go out on! From beginning to end, this album does not let up. It still sounds like Thin Lizzy but from the opening track, you KNOW the band is packing a lot of punch and aggression on this release along with that “80s sound” and some great guitar playing, no doubt helped along by the band’s new guitarist John Sykes (Whitesnake, Blue Murder).

This release isn’t really pointed at as essential Thin Lizzy, but I don’t see why not. Listen to “The Holy War”, “Cold Sweat” and “Bad Habits” and tell me they don’t deserve to be ranked against any other Thin Lizzy song!

Highlights: I honestly cannot pick just a handful of songs. This may now be one of my favorite albums EVER. Infectious and hard rocking nonstop.

Classic Thin Lizzy:
www.thinlizzy.org
www.myspace.com/phillynott

Scott Gorham/John Sykes Thin Lizzy tribute band:
www.thinlizzyonline.com
www.myspace.com/thinlizzynow

Posted on August 4, 2009, in Thin Lizzy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. >This may now be one of my favorite albums EVER.

    Really?
    I’m not much of a Thin Lizzy album…but if it’s that good, I may just pick it up if I find a copy!

    • You should really give it a shot. I was never a big Thin Lizzy fan either. I am now, but if I have one gripe about them, it’s that sometimes they’re too mellow. This album doesn’t really have that problem.

  2. I love this album. I was writing this short film and basically knew I would have to put it on the internet for free because I was being heavily influenced with imagery from 80s heavy metal and specifically this Lizzy Album.

    Please check out the episode HEART ATTACK of my series Hot Rod Hearts if you ever wanted to hear a movie scored to Thin Lizzy and Phil L.

    Much Love! Thanks for the post about Thunder and Lightening. We ended up using half the album in our score over 3 episodes. I hope you enjoy finding them in the episodes!

    -n

Leave a comment