BON JOVI – One Wild Night: Live 1985-2001

Bon Jovi – One Wild Night: Live 1985-2001 (2001, Island Records)

1. “It’s My Life” … 3:51
2. “Livin’ on a Prayer” … 5:13
3. “You Give Love a Bad Name” … 3:53
4. “Keep the Faith” … 6:19
5. “Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night” … 6:30
6. “Rockin’ in the Free World” … 5:40
7. “Something to Believe In” … 6:00
8. “Wanted Dead or Alive” … 6:00
9. “Runaway” … 4:47
10. “In and Out of Love” … 6:12
11. “I Don’t Like Mondays” … 5:58
12. “Just Older” … 5:13
13. “Something for the Pain” … 4:22
14. “Bad Medicine” … 4:19
15. “One Wild Night 2001” … 3:46

Band:
Jon Bon Jovi – Vocals, Guitar, Percussion
Richie Sambora – Guitar, Backing Vocals
David Bryan – Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Tico Torres – Drums, Percussion

Additional Musicians:
Alec John Such – Bass, Backing Vocals (“Runaway” and “In and Out of Love”)
Hugh McDonald – Bass, Backing Vocals
Bob Geldof – Vocals (“I Don’t Like Mondays”)

Produced by: Obie O’Brien, Bon Jovi, Luke Ebbin, Desmond Child

Although I’ve yet to see Bon Jovi in person, I’ve seen tons of live Bon Jovi performances over the years on television and video. They’ve always delivered and this, their first live album, is no different with “Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night” being an especially inspired performance. I usually don’t give live albums extended play, but this is one of the few live release I have in my collection that I did just that. You can never go wrong with Bon Jovi (when they’re singing the classics).

Seven of the fifteen tracks were recorded in 2000, four are from 1995, “Something to Believe In” is from ’96 and only “In and Out of Love” and “Runaway” are from 1985. I think it’s very strange they didn’t include any performances from their commercial peak (’87-’92) and I would have preferred most of the songs to be from that era. They probably included so many then-recent performances to show people it was still worth coming out to their shows in 2001. Only two of these songs were recorded in the US, which I find weird as well.

“One Wild Night 2001” is a needless remix of, you guessed it, “One Wild Night” from Crush the previous year. Fine for what it is (one of the hardest rocking songs from Crush), but it’s neither better or worse than the original.

Highlights: “It’s My Life”, “You Give Love a Bad Name”, “Someday I’ll Be Saturday Night”, “Runaway”, “I Don’t LIke Mondays”, “Something for the Pain”, “Bad Medicine”

www.bonjovi.com
www.myspace.com/bonjovi

Buy One Wild Night: Live 1985-2001 at Amazon.com

Posted on July 20, 2009, in Bon Jovi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

